Skip to content

Pajama Time

September 6, 2017
by

Can you believe I didn’t have a plain old pajama sewing pattern before I bought this one? I have a lot of patterns so it seems like something that would just be there for some reason. I was only interested in the pants, but this one seemed to have a lot of good options in case I needed them in the future.

Pattern: M6659, Views F and G. The star wars pair are view F with straight legs, which I made almost immediately after cutting them out last fall (I was in desperate need of more pajama pants) so they have been well worn already. The light blue “winter holiday” pair are view G with tapered legs and are fresh off the sewing machine. I wasn’t sure which view I would like better so I made one of each. I haven’t slept with the holiday pair yet, so my opinion might change, but I think I like the tapered legs better.

Shorts, tapered or straight leg pants have elasticized tie ends.

Click for source

Fabric: Quilting cotton. I LOVE the star wars print, it has ship blue prints on it! The hem band of the star wars pair is white with the star wars logo printed in repeat. The light blue with birds and ornaments will be cute in the winter because it kindof holiday themed.

It started raining as I was taking pictures so some are more grainy than others

Design Likes/Dislikes: There are some nice details included in the pattern like piping around the hem bands if you want it and an elasticated draw string. I actually hate normal and elasticated draw strings though so I just put full elastic in the waist. The height of the waist is also problematic, way too high, landing in an awkward location and being straight across instead of higher in back.

Sizing and Fit: I made the star wars pair first and almost quit when I first tried them on because the waist fit so strange. When the envelope says semi-fitted, they mean it. These are not super baggy, saggy pajama pants. They are meant to be pulled up. Obviously there is lots of ease in them, you can’t just slouch the pants down without the fit feeling really weird. But, it was easy enough to fix by folding the front waist down a few inches more and tapering to nothing extra in the back.

Changes: I folded the waist band down more than called for as described above. The pants were also too long. For the star wars pair I was lazy and instead of adding the full faced hem band on the bottom, I just used one set of the hem pieces as a visible facing basically. So they’re probably an inch too short but who cares they’re pajamas. The holiday pair are tapered so that wouldn’t work, this time I cut 2 inches off the bottom of the hem pieces and they turned out a better length. The holiday pair also have some rick rack in the hem band seam which you can’t really see very well.

For Next Time: I’m not sure I’ll need more pajama pants any time soon but I definitely won’t need a different pattern because these are pretty good.

~Molly

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jeanette permalink
    September 6, 2017 6:17 am

    I love your pajamas, especially the bird print, and the pattern has so many options.

  2. September 6, 2017 8:43 am

    I think I have this pattern; good to know about the fit! And since fall has apparently arrived (LOL!) you’ll be cozy!!

    LOVE the Star Wars print!

    • September 7, 2017 7:33 am

      There are so many good star wars cottons right now, I really have to hold myself back when I see them 😦

  3. September 6, 2017 4:05 pm

    PJs are so much fun to make- they are free reign for colours or prints and forgiving of sewing boos-boos – they’re pajamas!

    • September 7, 2017 7:33 am

      Yes, now I can wear all those fun quilting cottons!

So, what do you think?

