Skip to content

Plain Black, Not Boring

August 9, 2017

Some updates: I passed the Professional Engineer Exam!!! I can’t express how much of a relief is it, I can move on with my life now! And related to moving on with life, we bought a house! Which of course meant packing up and moving my sewing room, hence not posting about any sewing for the last month.

Last year my work place relaxed it’s dress code so we could wear jeans any day of the week (being in a regional office, we usually fudged the rules and wore jeans on Fridays but even that didn’t at the corporate headquarters in KC). That was supposed to be the only change, as in you’re still supposed to look business casual with polos or equivalent, but a lot of the guys have lowered the bar drastically wearing tennis shoes and even “nice” t-shirts. I’m not impressed by that development, but it is nice to wear jeans.

This will be the last time you see this backdrop in my blog pictures!

I tend to wear a ton of sweaters, even in the summer, because the office is usually cold. But I wanted more “dressy” t-shirt options. Something with a nice twist (not literally), but also not too weird or shapeless or casual.

Pattern: V1389, which is unfortunately not for sale except on the resale market because it’s a Donna Karen license

Pullover top has neck and sleeve bands, front extending to side back and stitched hem.

Fabric: Black cotton-lycra jersey (which is my favorite for t-shirts – lots of recovery but not too clingy)

Design Likes/Dislikes: The neck binding needed to be stretched a lot to fit, but this top is meant for super stretchy fabric so it works. Still a little wonky though. I love the side seams, it really makes this top more interesting than a standard t-shirt… even if you can’t really see the seams on this black fabric. Now that I’m looking at the pictures I think the neckline makes it look like I’m slouching… or maybe I’m slouching, hard to tell.

This is the best picture of the side seam I ended up with, ignore the nose itch

Sizing and Fit: I made my usual size 10. This shirt is very fitted and the sleeves seem to have negative ease. The arm holes might be too high also. But it feels pretty great anyways due to the raglan sleeves and awesome fabric. It doesn’t feel tight at all but it’s obviously riding up so maybe I should have gone a size up. I have gained a bit of weight over the stressful winter, not much but just enough that my favorite pants don’t fit anymore 😦

Changes: None that I can remember.

For Next Time: ALL THE COLORS

Skirt from 2015

~Molly

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Bia permalink
    August 9, 2017 5:34 pm

    Looks great!

  2. August 10, 2017 2:54 am

    Congratulations on the exam and the house move!

    I do like that top; such a shame that Vogue stopped doing the Donna Karen patterns.

  3. Cynthia permalink
    August 10, 2017 11:00 pm

    Congratulations on passing the exams! The top is very nice and looks great with your skirt.

  4. August 11, 2017 6:00 am

    Huge congratulations to you on passing your exams. It’s great that you’re a female Engineer in a male dominated profession. Also your t shirt is great – I love the style lines on this one and black is really versatile.

  5. August 14, 2017 11:33 am

    Congratulations on becoming a Professional Engineer! The top looks nice.

So, what do you think?

