Skip to content

Books of 2016

January 3, 2017

Like last year, I don’t really feel like rehashing what I sewed last year. I’m pretty sure my sewing slowed way down in 2016 and I don’t see it picking up anytime soon. So instead here is a list of books I read in 2016 and briefly what I thought about them (order is just chronological to when I read them):

  • Cat on the Edge – this was a really fun book. It’s a murder mystery with talking cats (who solve the crime). I believe it’s the first of a series of mystery books about the main cat character, but I doubt I’ll read the rest of them.
  • A New Hope, The Empire Strikes Back, and Return of the Jedi – novelizations of the original 3 star wars movies. I’m lumping them together because the book I got had all 3 printed in one binding. I would say these are just meh, the movies are better but it is kindof funny to notice the differences because the movie wasn’t finalized when these books were written. I’m pretty sure I remember the book describing Yoda as having blue skin.
  • The Force Awakens – another novelization of the movie, this one was much more consistent with the movie, well written, and had just a little bit more in it about what some of the characters were thinking. But nothing very important. I’m seriously considering getting immersed in all the new star wars books after seeing Rogue One.
  • Leviathan Wakes – This is the first book in the Expanse series that was recently made into a really awesome TV show. The books is also very good, but this is a complex story set about 100 years in the future with multiple plot lines. Basically humanity has colonized Mars, some moons of Jupiter, and the asteroid belt, but because of differences in gravity humans are evolving differently in different locations. There’s political drama, space ships, interplanetary war, and possibly aliens. It’s really well done and I do plan to read more of the series, but I have a hard time getting into really long book series that have no end in sight. Everyone should at least watch the TV show, it’s amazing.
  • Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk – A book of short stories about animals by David Sedaris. Nearly all the stories are full of dark humor. It wasn’t my favorite, I was hoping for a little more light heartedness.
  • Death Comes to Pemberley – This is sortof a sequil to Pride and Prejudice, except obviously a different author. But it’s also a murder mystery. It was a very fast read, and I enjoyed it all the way up to the end. But the ending was pretty disappointing.
  • The Bad Beginning,  The Reptile Room,  The Wide Window,  and The Miserable Mill – these are the first 4 books in Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events. When these first came out I was probably just a little too old for them, I read the first 3 books and just didn’t think they were funny, just depressing (I tend to internalize a lot of things I read and watch on TV without realizing it, for instance scary things will definitely give me bad dreams if I watch them too close to bedtime. Like zombie movies or true crime shows). My mom loved them and had the whole series of books, but she was going to get rid of them because she wasn’t going to reread them so I took the books home (although I’m missing book 7). I still think they’re depressing, and not especially funny, but I can appreciate them more now and I’m determined to read them all before watching the new Netflix show. Mainly I just really want to know what happens to the Baudelaire orphans in the end.

Currently I’m part way through  The Austere Academy (book 5 of A Series of Unfortunate Events), Little Women, and O Pioneers. Which is pretty random combination, but I seem to jump around a lot between genres anyways.

I couldn’t find a picture related to books so here are my cats sleeping:

20161225_154159

~Molly

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jeanette permalink
    January 3, 2017 2:06 pm

    No need for pictures of books for me; I love pictures of cats!

So, what do you think?

