Skip to content

Where Are All the Cordovas?

June 18, 2016

In my head I’m singing “Where are all the Cordovas” to the tune of “Where have all the Cowboys Gone.” I’ve always thought the Cordova Jacket from Sewaholic was a really cool looking pattern, it’s surprising that it hasn’t been more popular. I guess jacket’s are more intimidating to some people… but this one doesn’t even have a collar! I finally bought it and made it though and I think it’s a winner, with a few personal preference tweaks anyways.

Cordova (1)

Pattern: Sewaholic 1205 Cordova Jacket

Fabric: Cream faux suede, polyester bird print lining, and tan plastic separating zipper. The suede has a really cool texture, almost like miniature elephant skin, except white and softer.

Cordova (2)

Design Likes/Dislikes: I was really unsure about the second hip flounce layer at first, but I’m glad I went for it because it’s well balanced and not too extreme. The sleeves, however, are pretty horrible (to my taste). The sleeves that come with the pattern are so loose and the shoulders are huge. I don’t remember if the pattern called for padding, but I’m not sure how else you’d get the shoulders to stay nice and poofy without some padding. I inserted one sleeve per the pattern, hated it, unpicked the seam and recut the sleeves using the sleeve peices from Burda 03/2012 #102 (which is a really good pattern, I made it here in purple suede… apparently I have a thing for faux suede jackets).

Cordova (7)

Since I didn’t make any adjustments to either the sleeve or body pattern pieces, they don’t fit perfectly together. But with the help of a bazillion pins, I got the sleeves in 99% pucker free, so I don’t care. If I make this jacket again, I’ll modify the armscye of the jacket to fit these sleeves better.

Cordova (6)

I like it so much better without the 1980s shoulder pleats.

Cordova (3)

I like the exposed zipper and collarless neckline a lot too, makes it feel slightly futuristic to me (I imagine collars and lapels will be pretty useless in the future. We’ll probably all just wear jumpsuits like in Star Trek though).

Cordova (4)

Sizing and Fit: I cut a size 4. I am not good at choosing my size with “indie” patterns. In this case the shoulders are tight, but the hips feel great. Which probably makes sense since Sewaholic drafts for pear shaped figures which I am not. It’s wearable though, and all I do is sit at a desk all day. It would be a bigger problem if I had to raise my arms up over my head all the time.

Cordova (5)

Changes: The only change was swapping out the sleeves really, everything else is per the pattern I think. I actually finished and photographed this jacket a month ago, I’ve just been too tired after work recently to do anything.

For Next Time: I do really like this jacket, and it would look pretty different with just one hip flounce. But I will have to grade between sizes for the shoulder area and modify the armscye area to fit better.

~Molly

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2016 6:34 am

    Yeah- this is a classic- wear it forever never get tired of it jacket- the kind your friends steal. Nicely done.

  2. June 19, 2016 12:16 pm

    What a super jacket! I never would have expected the hip flounces to look as good as they do, but they make the jacket really special and chic. Great job.

  3. June 19, 2016 2:41 pm

    I think the 80s shoulders are one of the reasons this didn’t become as popular as the other Sewaholic patterns. I really like this. I think you made the right choice about the sleeves. It’s gorgeous.

  4. June 19, 2016 3:48 pm

    that looks really cute on you and I like your adjustments. Also that color makes a great wardrobe basic. I had noticed also that there were not very many of this pattern to be seen online. I don’t like things with separating zippers and it does have a bit of an 80’s vibe so not for me but now that you have it fitted you should remake for winter.

So, what do you think?

