Skip to content

Let’s Do the Twist

April 13, 2016

I think there’s only about 2 designs in each Drape Drape book that are wearable in my everyday life, but they’re so cool and interesting and different. This is kindof a test garment to see if the size I picked fit and because I have a more cherished knit I want to try next.

DrapeDrape2-4(3)

Pattern: Drape Drape 2 by Hisako Sato, No. 4 One-piece scoop neck asymmetrical top

Fabric: Polyester ITY(?), my mom bought this as the SR Harris warehouse store and gave me the leftovers after she made a top because it’s so wide. I still have a good chunk of it left too. Not my favorite colors, but I like the cityscape-ish print that ends up looking even more abstract on this shirt.

DrapeDrape2-4(1)

DrapeDrape2-4(4)

Design Likes/Dislikes: It’s a little weird that the sleeves are slightly different lengths and the right sleeve not being straight across feels odd. But the side drape is so interesting and the whole thing is very comfortable.

Sizing and Fit: Size L, sizing is probably the biggest downfall for the Drape Drape series because it really limits who can easily make these patterns. If I’m a size large and there’s only one size bigger being offered, that’s going to deter a ton of people, I know I wouldn’t bother. And the flat pattern shapes are so weird it might be difficult to modify.

DrapeDrape2-4(2)

DrapeDrape2-4(5)

Changes: I shortened the neck binding and the left sleeve to try to match the right sleeve better.

For Next Time: Definitely going to make the neckline higher, not only am I forced to wear a tank top with it right now but it kept shifting throughout the day because the neck just felt too big.

~Molly

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Bia permalink
    April 13, 2016 7:10 am

    Even when you don’t like a color, sometimes its good to have things like that. It looks good on you too! What an interesting pattern.

  2. April 13, 2016 11:47 am

    That’s a great top, and I really love the design. Thanks for sharing.

  3. April 14, 2016 8:16 am

    Beautiful! I agree that the neckline is really low on this design, but I really like your version.

  4. April 15, 2016 1:27 am

    It’s come out well! I could never make this one work for me; made it twice and never wore either version.

  5. April 16, 2016 8:07 am

    So cool. I love the different sleeves. I’d love to try something from one of those drape drape books but I’d say I’m definitely out of the size range.

So, what do you think?

