Skip to content

Renerick

March 2, 2016

Or a Butterfrew? I mashed up my favorite fitting t-shirt pattern with the Renfrew’s awesome hem bands and collar and I want 50 more of these shirts. My first Renfrew was great for a while, though I think it was a little tight, but it died because of the polyester fabric.

StripeRenfrew3

Pattern: Sewaholic Renfrew view C + Butterick 4198

Fabric: Rayon lycra (body and hem bands), cotton lycra (sleeves), and mystery poly-cotton (collar). I was trying to use up scraps, but didn’t have enough of the rayon lycra so now I still have an awkward chunk of that one leftover. The stripes are totally gone though! I was worried the striped fabric would be too heavy to pair with the rayon, there’s a big thickness difference, but it’s actually worked out really well because the collar supports itself enough and doesn’t pull.

StripeRenfrew1

I really need to stop being sucked in by how soft rayon knits are at the store, they do not hold up in the wash well.

Design Likes/Dislikes: I don’t like wearing plain t-shirts to work, it’s not professional enough in my mind, so the Renfrew’s collar is perfect. And now that I have the fit worked out by combining it with B4198, I just need to make it in every color!

StripeRenfrew2

Sizing and Fit: So I keep saying I combined the two patterns. Basically what I did, by tracing, was use the shoulders, side seams, and sleeve top from B4198 and the collar, neckline, body hem, and sleeve length and hem from the Renfrew. Having a pattern that will fit every time is really magical. Still working on the magic patterns for pants and button ups.

Changes: See above

For Next Time: More colors! The collar is also pretty good for combining scraps, so I’ll probably keep doing that.

~Molly

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Bia permalink
    March 2, 2016 7:40 am

    Nice!

  2. March 2, 2016 9:31 am

    Pretty nice Molly! It fits perfectly.

So, what do you think?

