Skip to content

Three Shiny Shirts Go to a Gala

January 30, 2016

My sisters and I threw ourselves a new years gala this year (last year? for the 2015 to 2016 transition. It’s a very confusing time of year) and the theme was SHINY. So I dropped everything (that I was sewing) and made us each a new shiny party shirt. I didn’t get many pictures of Pedro or &andra’s shirts (Our older sister. Not her real name, as you might have guessed) so this review will be pretty quick. I’ll look at my shirt more later.

20151231_193410

Please excuse the construction, &andra’s living room was in the process of being renovated by Mr. Brother-In-Law

Pedro’s Shiny Red Shirt: Burda #141 12/2014 in size 48

20151231_190229-2

This such a great pattern. It fits Pedro really well and it’s just so cool. I hope Burda makes it in the smaller size range someday. I used a red poly satin and used my sweet rolled hem presser foot to do the flounce hems.

20160101_002247

&andra’s Shiny Bamboo Shirt: New Look 6225 View A in size 16

20151231_215908

I don’t sew for &andra very often so I was pretty nervous about the fit, but in the end the shirt fits very well. I narrowed the sleeve and didn’t gather it at the hem, by request. The brocade fabric was a huge pain in the butt though, snagging on everything and surprisingly shifty.

Everyone was happy with their outfits and the gala was tons of fun. Plenty of alcohols were consumed.

~Molly

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2016 2:19 pm

    Shiny shirts are the reason we celebrate NYE 🙂 OK, maybe the champy too.

  2. sophie o. permalink
    February 8, 2016 7:17 am

    what about yours? 😉 Alcohol and shiny shirts make for a great gala!

So, what do you think?

