Skip to content

Books of 2015

January 8, 2016

Last year I feel like I read a lot more books than I have in a long time, which is surprising to me because I’ve never been a “strong reader.” I guess I’ve improved a lot just because I love reading, even if I didn’t used to be fast. I figured I’d do a round up of the books I finished in 2015 (since this is my blog and I do what I want), in basically the order I finished:

  • In Defense of Food – Really liked this, it makes you think past just eating “healthy” because the scientists are not always right about food.
  • The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, and Mockingjay – I devoured this series in about 3 days. Not a new story line in general (there is a classic greek mythology story that is very similar), but fun to read and I like the movies too.
  • 2001: A Space Odyssey – Also pretty fun, I love scifi though. Pretty sure if I hadn’t read the book first, the movie wouldn’t have made any sense though.
  • Nimona – Not a typical book, it’s a graphic novel and was originally published online. But it’s really good.
  • The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up – Interesting ideas, but Pedro and I are convinced konmari is a little bit of a sociopath. I started folding my clothes the way she suggests because they fit in my drawers better, but it actually sucked the joy out of doing laundry for me (yes, I like doing laundry because I like organizing my stuff).
  • Vermilion – super fun alternate reality, steampunk, victorian, ghost/monster hunting with talking seals and bears.
  • Boy, Snow, Bird – An unusual take on the Snow White story set on the east coast in the 1950s and surprisingly deals a tiny bit with racial tensions. I love fairy tale remakes.
  • A Wrinkle in Time – It’s a kid book so it was fast to read, but it’s just a good story too. I wish it was longer. I’m going to read the next book in the series, but I think it isn’t the same story, just the same characters.
  • The Martian – SCIENCE! Love this one, it actually made me jumpy and nervous during the dramatic moments. Can’t wait to see the movie.
  • Go Set a Watchman – Meh. Not much plot, just lots of Scout thinking and talking. And really badly written to be honest. I know they were trying to put out the “unedited” version but that’s shit, everything needs a little editing. One character literally flipped from a woman to a man within the same paragraph, as if Harper Lee hadn’t decided about the character yet. The message is good, but the book is boring.
Potato with her favorite snuggle buddy, Walrus

Potato with her favorite snuggle buddy, Walrus

I’ve got a couple books I’d like to read next, but the problem is always deciding which first!

~Molly

One Comment leave one →
  1. Bia permalink
    January 8, 2016 6:56 pm

    Good choices!

So, what do you think?

