Skip to content

VM Wear

December 2, 2015
by

I showed my new skirt to Mr. Husband and the first thing he says is it has the same colors as VM Ware product marketing. Thanks? (VM Ware is a virtual server software thingymabob. Mr. Husband works in IT) Before I made my black straight skirt, I went on a hunt in the pattern stash to find good straight skirt options because that’s my favorite skirt shape right now. So I went through my Burda magazines and this is one that I traced off. Its actually very similar to the simplicity pattern used for the black skirt with back princess butt seams and curved waistband.

PaintSkirt2

Pattern: BurdaStyle #125 07/2010

Feel like salsa dancing? You will in this narrow skirt with a wild flounce of ruffles at the hem. It’s all business at the top with a side zip and narrow waistband but has a dramatic finish.

…minus the ruffle things (which look like a pain in the ass to sew).

Fabric: Polyester print from Hancocks. I’m not sure what you’d call this fabric, it’s matte and textured on the right side, then the wrong side is shiny and slick (and snags easily). I like the painted look to the print though.

PaintSkirt1

Design Likes/Dislikes: There are no pockets, not too big a deal for me though since I’d just be wearing this to work. And there’s no slit. It’s not tight, but I tend to take long steps when walking so I do notice the restriction.

PaintSkirt3

Sizing and Fit: I made a size 38. It fits pretty well, the side seams have more curves than I do but that just turns into sitting ease for me. I actually match up better with Burda size 36 overall, but I like going up a size for skirts because I’m short waisted, a size 36 skirt would hit too high on my waist and my butt is where my curves are so 38 always seems to fit better. Besides, you can always take in!

PaintSkirt4

I think I’m standing funny…

Changes: I left off the silly chiffon circles of doom. Seriously, how would you wash a skirt with all those things on it?

For Next Time: Meh, there are more skirts in the sea pattern stash to try out.

~Molly

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2015 8:41 am

    The fabric is definitely the star! It fits and I think it’s nice enough but I don’t think it’s as smashing on you as some other skirts have been!

    You don’t want the cats attacking you in your skirt?!? 😉 Good idea to leave off the ‘frill’.

  2. December 2, 2015 12:45 pm

    hah!!! very nice 🙂 i was quite delighted by your title (mine works there!) nice skirt! 🙂

  3. December 2, 2015 8:00 pm

    It’s a great pattern for showcasing that gorgeous print!

Trackbacks

  1. Plain Black, Not Boring | Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

