Skip to content

Panel Print

November 25, 2015

Yay for long sleeves!

FlowerStripe4

Pattern: BurdaStyle #123 09/2012

This top is surprisingly striking! This top is made from comfortable and easy to wear jersey, and features shoulder yokes in a contrast fabric.

You really don’t need a pattern to make a shirt like this, just chop off the top corner of any tshirt pattern and add seam allowances back in.

Fabric: Printed 4-way stretch knit, lycra blend most likely. I love the combination of flowers and stripes, but I only had 1.5 panels of the repeat so cutting out was tricky. I ended up having to cut off some of the sleeve length because I was dumb and didn’t measure my arm vs. the pattern piece so I’m kindof bummed that I lost some of the flowers on the sleeve. Would have rather had more flowers and less of the thick black stripe at the shoulder.

FlowerStripe3

Design Likes/Dislikes: There really isn’t a whole lot of design here, but the contrast shoulders are obviously the highlight and would be awesome in lots of different color combinations. But like I said above, you could easily do this to any shirt pattern.

FlowerStripe2

Sizing and Fit: I made a size 34, and it is very fitted. That’s fine for my super stretchy fabric, but anything with minimal stretch would not work at all. I think the arm cycles are a little low too.

FlowerStripe1

Changes: I skipped the facings and back neck opening and added bands on the neck, sleeves, and hem. And I cut off about 2-3 inches from the sleeves and hem 😥

For Next Time: Instead of reusing this pattern, I might frankenstein it to my favorite t-shirt pattern B4198.

~Molly

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Bia permalink
    November 25, 2015 7:13 am

    Stripes and Flowers!

  2. November 25, 2015 8:08 am

    This is really cute! Great fabric choice for this pattern.

  3. November 25, 2015 8:34 am

    I love the fabric choice- the shoulder pieces really show it off. Lovely use of a border print and great shirt!

  4. November 25, 2015 5:15 pm

    Great shirt! I like the black with bold yellow flowers.

So, what do you think?

