Skip to content

Shift Dress

November 18, 2015
by

I’m still slowly trying to find the perfect pattern for my precious Marimekko fabric, and we might have a winner with this one!

ShiftDress4

Tada!

Pattern: BurdaStyle Dress 107 09/2012

Striking pattern, large patch pockets, and angular make this shift dress extra special.

Fabric: Wool blend with woven print (the back side of the fabric is the opposite colors so it’s also very pretty). I lovelovelove this fabric and I’m so glad I waited to use it. Originally (multiple years ago) I felt like the only pattern that would suit this well was a fitted dress, but with no stretch and it being really thick fabric I knew I’d never wear it that much because of comfort.

ShiftDress5

It is itchy though so I lined the whole thing with the leftovers from this dress.

Design Likes/Dislikes: It’s a great shape, the darts in front give enough definition that it doesn’t look like a sack (to me). And it has sleeves! The shoulder seams get pretty bulky with the sleeve dart intersecting at the same point, but my fabric is also pretty thick. I didn’t add any pockets, but that wouldn’t be hard, the patch pockets are even pretty cute.

ShiftDress2

Sizing and Fit: I made a size 36 and I think it fits pretty well. Next time, however, I will be adding some sort of shaping in the back, probably just taking in the center back seam near the waist.

ShiftDress1

Changes: I ended up turning up about 3 inches on the sleeves (which removed most of the bell shape I think, I was going to straighten them out at some point anyways) and 5 inches on the hem. I like deep hems. I bagged the lining using this method, so I didn’t have to do any hand stitching.

ShiftDress3

For Next Time: Take in the center back seam, “unbell” the sleeves and shorten the whole pattern. I’m going to use my Marimekko fabric with this pattern, but probably not for several months.

~Molly

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2015 7:05 am

    Looks great Molly, love the look of that fabric too!

  2. Bia permalink
    November 18, 2015 7:17 am

    Really cute, love the fabric too!

  3. November 19, 2015 2:25 am

    Love those front darts and how that makes the dress sit. I agree, perhaps a little bit of shaping through the back and you’ve got it!

  4. November 24, 2015 9:26 pm

    The color is fabulous! And the fit looks great. I’ve been thinking about shift dresses lately. I think the fit of a shift dress is more what I was thinking of when I made my dismal attempt at a tee dress.

So, what do you think?

