Skip to content

Millennium Falcon WREATH

November 11, 2015
by

This is nerd level 10, beware.

BUT OMG I LOVE IT SOOOO MUCH!!!!!  What can be better than decorating with Star Wars?? Just in time for christmas the new movie!

I did not come up with the idea completely by myself, but the inspiration wasn’t technically a wreath so I can take a little credit.  Somewhere, probably just pinterest, I saw a Millennium Falcon mirror that was basically a wreath, but with a mirror in the middle (also much sturdier and detailed looking than what I made).  I started with a particle board wreath template and gray craft foam and just cut the craft foam to the same shape but with overlapping edges:

New and unusual uses for seam allowance guides!

New and unusual uses for seam allowance guides!

Then cut the circle into sections:

MilleniumFalcon (2)

Numbered the sections so they would still fit together later

I did two layers like this to build up a little dimension

I did two layers like this to build up a little dimension

Then I hot glued them onto the wreath template:

MilleniumFalcon (4)

I used paper templates that I just sketched out to make the cockpit and fin shapes:

MilleniumFalcon (5)

mini Millennium Falcon for reference

mini Millennium Falcon for reference

I didn’t take a picture of the back, but I did reinforce the cockpit extension with some strips of cardboard (Popsicle sticks would have been better, but I didn’t have any).

Next I made the ship look more worn and dirty by watering down acrylic paints:

MilleniumFalcon (7)

MilleniumFalcon (8)

And then I added rhinestones to represent colored patches, windows, and lights on the ship:

MilleniumFalcon (9)

This is not the final rhinestone arrangement

MilleniumFalcon (10)

MilleniumFalcon (11)

And finally, because the rhinestones were so shiny, I again used watered down paint to dirty them up as well.

MilleniumFalcon (13)

MilleniumFalcon (12)

I love it so much, did I say that already? Cause it’s true, this thing is awesome. Definitely my favorite wreath I’ve made so far.  It would take a lot to top how awesome this is.  I gave my last two wreaths to my older sister after having them hang on my door for a while, but this one might have to stay with me a little longer… It’s really season-less after all.

~Molly

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Melinda permalink
    November 11, 2015 6:21 am

    I can’t stand just how cute that is!

  2. November 11, 2015 8:08 am

    This.Is.INSANE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I love it so much!

  3. Donna permalink
    November 11, 2015 10:25 am

    !!! Best. Wreath. Ever. I am afraid of the new film though. I rather lost faith in George Lucas after the prequels.

  4. November 11, 2015 11:51 am

    Fantastic! Absolutely fantastic. 😀

  5. November 12, 2015 7:08 pm

    OH MY GOSH THIS IS AMAZING. I have tickets to opening night showing already *nerd alert* and now you’ve inspired me to make a wreath with all my star wars action figures on it (saved from my childhood, of course). So cool!

  6. November 14, 2015 7:57 am

    yes. it is the best thing ever.

So, what do you think?

