Skip to content

Senna, not in Vegas

October 21, 2015

We went on vacation to Las Vegas in September (well, I went on vacation.  Mr. Husband was in a conference for 6 days) and I made this dress for the trip but then didn’t end up wearing it! Every night we were just so tired of walking around. Oh well, I wore it for date night recently.  It’s just starting to get chilly so boots and a jacket are required.  This dress is definitely different for me because it’s so tight, thankfully it’s knit so it was still comfortable!

GreenSenna (1)

Pattern: Senna Dress by Lindsay Woodward Patterns

Fabric: Lycra rayon(?) jersey, you never really know what you’re buying at the SR Harris warehouse. I LOVE the color though, hopefully I can squeeze a t-shirt out of the leftovers. It has some serious 4-way stretch.

GreenSenna (2)

Design Likes/Dislikes: The skirt is super tight, the gathers are held in place by elastic up the side seams and the tension across my legs.  It’s definitely not a work dress! I like the combination of tight skirt and loose top though.  The top is ok, but the neckband provided is too short so it constantly looks kindof gathered.  I also got kindof PO’d at the pattern when I was cutting because both neckline variations are on the same bodice piece (that’s fine, lots of patterns do that), but it was not clear enough to me that there was two neckline options.  Like I couldn’t see the crew neck at all (that’s the version I had wanted).  And I don’t like that the front and back bodice are the same.

GreenSenna (4)

GreenSenna (5)

Last complaint is that the waist is not secure on the dress variation, you just sew the top and skirt together, but I feel like it needs elastic because it never stays put. Over all it is a cute dress and I’ll wear it for date nights or other dress up occasions.

It's also very easy for the whole skirt to shift around my body, which I'm pretty sure is why those diagonal lines are in the bodice. That or I stand crooked.

It’s also very easy for the whole skirt to shift around my body, which I’m pretty sure is why those diagonal lines are in the bodice. That or I was standing crooked.

Sizing and Fit: Pretty sure I made a size 4 and it seems to fit correctly.  There’s definitely flexability in which size you pick because the knit has to be so stretchy.

Changes: None

For Next Time: I doubt I’ll be making this again, but if I did I would use a longer neck binding and put something around the waist seam to stabilize it more.

Mr. Husband took pictures again. "OK, give back my phone now"

Mr. Husband took pictures again, he’d getting much better at it by taking about 50 pictures! “OK, give back my phone now”

~Molly

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Melinda permalink
    October 21, 2015 6:18 am

    I LOVE reading your blog. It’s so much fun for me to keep up with your “doings”. Wish I was as prolific as you. Say hi to Mr. Husband.

  2. Bia permalink
    October 21, 2015 6:52 am

    I love the fabric too! I have a top out of the same (we bought it together!). I made Hot Patterns 1189 http://www.hotpatterns.com/hp-1189-fast-fabulous-shirt-tail-ts/ “Fast and Fabulous Shirt-Tail Ts”

  3. October 21, 2015 7:54 am

    Gorgeous colour! I like the tight skirt with the blouson top, too. It’s a nice silhouette. And did I mention I love that colour? 😉

  4. Birdmommy permalink
    October 21, 2015 1:41 pm

    Thank you for the detailed review! I love the idea of a fitted skirt/blousy top dress, but as soon as I see that the front and back pattern pieces are the same Tilly patterns I know it’s not going to work for me.

    I’m beginning to suspect that the reason I can’t find a pattern for this sort of dress that factors in breasts and bottoms is because this sort of dress looks best on women with… fewer curves?

  5. October 21, 2015 2:39 pm

    Oooh, hot, hot, hot! I like it!!! I really love that color too!!!

So, what do you think?

