Skip to content

The Basics

October 14, 2015
by

Thanks so much for your input on my last post, I was worried I came off sounding angry (in my defense it was past my bed time).  I wasn’t trying to point fingers at other bloggers just because they’re more popular or anything (but apologizing for not posting is still annoying. don’t do it), I was just tired of “blog round-up” type posts that continually link back to the same set of blogs.  And for all of you who told me not to stop blogging, don’t worry I won’t!  Someone has to be cranky and sarcastic in the sewing blog-o-sphere!  Anyways, back to that sewing thing…

Good quality cardigans are so difficult to find in stores, because you never know if it’s going to pill up in the wash or not.  So I figured, why not make one?  I’ve sewn cardigans before and there’s nothing mind blowing about it.

BasicCardigan (2)

Pattern: McCall’s 6844

M6844

Close-fitting cardigans (do not meet at center front) have collar extending into front band, and narrow hem. A and C: shaped hemline, wrong side shows.

Fabric: Black rayon jersey, very light weight.  Probably too light weight for this pattern because the sleeves are too roomy in the armpits.

BasicCardigan (3)

Design Likes/Dislikes: I like the idea of the collar, and it’s put together well, but it has a hard time staying in place.  At least with my fabric, I have a thought that a thicker fabric would hold the collar in place better.  Other than that, I’m glad the rest of the cardigan is really simple and there are more variations included if you want to get fancy (the peplum is cute, but not for me).

BasicCardigan (4)

Sizing and Fit: I made my usual size 10.  It feels a little big, but I’m pretty sure that’s just the nature of rayon jersey being both thin and droopy/drapy at the same time.

Changes: None

Mr. Husband took these pictures. This the face I make when he tells me to smile ha!

Mr. Husband took these pictures. This the face I make when he tells me to smile ha!

For Next Time: I do want to make this again in a more substantial knit.

At least now I can get rid of my faded black Target cardigan!

~Molly

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2015 6:53 am

    You look great! This is my favorite cardigan pattern. I changed up later versions and used this tutorial for the collar: http://www.detectivehoundstooth.com/tag/burrito-method/. It makes the collard with nice finishing. Hope you’ll sew up more of this cardigan! Bonnie @sewplus.blogspot.com

  2. Jeanette permalink
    October 14, 2015 7:06 am

    This is a great cardigan, one I would like to make for myself. It looks good on you.

  3. Bia permalink
    October 14, 2015 7:08 am

    I’m glad you wrote about having trouble with the neck-collar, because I certainly would have the same trouble. Do you like the collar-that-goes-forever in front? Not sure how that would look on me…

  4. sophie o. permalink
    October 14, 2015 8:35 am

    That looks good and practical! Have you tried it in another type of fabric? Like sweater knits? I’ll put it on my wishlist 🙂

    • sophie o. permalink
      October 14, 2015 8:37 am

      oh dear, I’ve just had a look at the pattern page, it’s so ugly!! I’d never have bought it..

  5. October 14, 2015 11:08 am

    This looks great. Isn’t this the cardigan pattern that won Pattern of the Year over at PR? I seem to see so many great version of this, both with and without the peplum that if I didn’t have so many Burda versions of the same idea, I’d probably buy the pattern to make one. Love it in basic black. Any plans to make it up in a more stable/heavier knit?

  6. October 14, 2015 11:41 am

    I like this shape too- sleek, cozy, good. We cranky sarcastic types need others to grump with- don’t leave!

So, what do you think?

