Skip to content

An Unsocial Sewist

October 8, 2015
by

When describing the on-line sewing community, nearly everyone seems to start out by say how supportive and nice it is.  And while I agree, I have to add in that it has always felt like a popularity contest to me.  Even from the very beginning.

Now it seems every other blogger is talking about blogging burn out because they felt constant pressure to produce content.  I don’t understand this at all.  Who’s pressuring you?  Commentors?  No, you’re imaging the pressure and possibly delusional (joking!… mostly).  Maybe real life got in the way?  Great! Real life should always come first, just don’t apologize to your internet stranger friends, that’s annoying.  Tell us what happened or keep it to yourself, that’s your choice and no one else’s.

Or is it burn out because it doesn’t feel like anyone is listening?  I can understand that better because this is small blog, I have no idea how many read it and not many people comment on it.  Earlier in the summer I too started to feel like what’s the point in blogging?  What do I get out of it?  Well I might not get much sew-lebrity (sewing celebrity) attention because I take pictures in my yard and I don’t make flashy cloths or wear extra make up for pictures (most of my pictures are taken after work, so you really do see me exactly the way I look most days), but I do think I’ve made a few “blogging friends.” People with their own small blogs that don’t get a ton of circulation, but that are authentic and friendly, not try-hard.  What I like about blogging is mostly just showing those people what I’m up to.

People stare, Spot stares back #catonaleash #spotthecat

A post shared by Molly Pruess (@mtoferet) on

I’m terrible at commenting on other people’s blogs (Blogger has not been making it easy lately) because I’m lazy, bad at articulating my thoughts, and commenting on my phone is super hard.  So mostly I just assume at least half the people reading my words are like me and won’t say anything.  And that’s cool, I’m not a social person or very good at making new friends (typical engineer possibly).

I got thinking about this today mainly because I heard about a new sewing community site, The Fold Line, that didn’t seem that great.  Yet another website trying to be the “Ravelry of sewing.” Great, whatever, the site looks trendy but I have yet to be impressed.  I signed up and I’ll probably keep poking around before I give up on it, but sites like this always seem like extra work for me where I have to do extra blogging in an attempt to promote my actual blog.  I post on pattern review because the reviews actually help due to shear quantity, but the site is still clunky and crowded.  I was looking through The Fold Line blog and they were linking to the same set of bloggers week after week.  Maybe that will change as more people sign up or something, but if they want a good first impression they failed.  Just another popularity contest.  No thank you.

"Why are you sewing?! It's so nice outside! TAKE ME OUTSIDE!" #spotthecat #demandingcats

A post shared by Molly Pruess (@mtoferet) on

Maybe it’s just because I’m naturally a reserved, unsocial, sarcastic person that I feel suspicious or jaded about popular sewing blogs and community sites.  What do you think? How’s everything going on your end, in blogging or anything?

~Molly

52 Comments leave one →
  1. The Oldest Sister permalink
    October 8, 2015 10:14 pm

    Agreed, the best part about graduating high school is leaving popularity contests behind, it bothers me immensely when I see them out in real life. Blog on tiny “sewist” (Tailor? Seamstress?)

  2. October 8, 2015 11:18 pm

    I am also pretty introverted, reserved, sarcastic (and dating an engineer – go figure) so I’m not really an internet joiner. This is my second or third ever comment or post in the “sewing community” in fact. Lucky you?

    I find the websites overwhelming and the sew-lebrities over saturating the airwaves sewing the latest pattern/fashion/sewing trends – which I find frustrating as I don’t typically follow “trends”. So I stick to quietly reading blogs looking for information relevant to my sewing or an interesting “voice” worth reading. My website usage involves wading through too much info with the search tool rather than reading threads for the heck of it.

    That being said, I’m glad people are finding sewing large enough to attempt to monetize through websites and patterns and/or create these sew-lebrities attempting to sell me the next big thing. While annoying, it does expand our available options. I personally love the overwhelming choices we have today and the abundance of information is a lifesaver, esp to those not near an IRL network of sewists or are too busy, shy etc. to join. I view the rest I don’t care for as necessary evils and join or ignore as needed.

    • October 10, 2015 7:00 am

      The sheer number of sewing resources online is pretty crazy, so I’m happy you found your way here! Often I just scroll through pictures, and if something peaks my interest I’ll stop to read more.
      I do love all the new pattern and fabric choices that have popped up in the last 5 years, I used to live in South Dakota which has very few resources for sewing so the online networks and shops were awesome. Of course now I live in the Twin Cities so I don’t have to go online for anything if I didn’t want to!

  3. October 9, 2015 12:29 am

    I agree with you. I have a small blog. I do try to post to various sites but it is very time consuming. And I do get the popularity vibe on certain sites. I love PR! Don’t care how clunky. I refer to it frequently and appreciate the real world posts.

  4. October 9, 2015 1:31 am

    I know what you mean. I’ve signed up for a couple of the sewing social sites over the last few years but not found them compelling. I use Pattern Review less and less because you can find reviews easily via Google – and is it just me or is the overall quality of reviews on PR going down? There are exceptions but a lot of them are pretty minimal these days.

    With regard to why to blog, I’ve come to the conclusion that I blog for me because it’s useful to be able to refer to past projects, and taking photos helps me see where things need improvement. Hence the irregular posting schedule and lack of construction photos.

    • October 10, 2015 7:03 am

      I like PR mostly just for the pictures, so I can see patterns made up on other people and decide if I can make it work.
      I thought about the journaling aspect of blogging, but for me I don’t really go back much on my blog to see what I did, I usually write stuff on pattern envelopes so I remember to make changes. It really is just about connecting to people I like from around the world.

  5. October 9, 2015 2:44 am

    I read your blog. And am painfully fully commenting by phone because this gave me a good chuckle

    • October 10, 2015 7:04 am

      Nice! phone commenting is so hard, I think blog hosting sites could make it more like texting to make it easier.

  6. October 9, 2015 4:39 am

    …its not just the kool kids…its the kool kids & their 10000 social outlets so im reading the same thing on their blogs, then instagram, then twitter, kollabora, ravelry….geez, talk about an overload! & when its advertising disguised as ‘content’…oh boy!

    • October 10, 2015 7:06 am

      ya, I follow a lot of people on instagram but their posts are almost always just rehashes or snapshots of whatever they posted on their blog that day. It gets a very curated feeling.

  7. Miriana permalink
    October 9, 2015 5:19 am

    I enjoy smaller blogs more, especially ones that critique developments in sewing blogs.

    • October 10, 2015 7:08 am

      It seems like smaller blogs (to me) are more honest and open, maybe the pressure of having lots of followers makes people smooth over their real feelings so they don’t upset anyone (which is dumb)

  8. Donna permalink
    October 9, 2015 7:26 am

    Hi! Exactly. I read your blog, but don’t often comment. Lack of time or sometimes nothing “interesting” to say. I blog for myself primarily and I love the interaction, but I don’t NEED need it, if that makes sense. My blogging is definitely secondary to my off-line…everything. And it doesn’t generate revenue. I ignore the popularity contest aspect and follow who interests me, big blog or small. Those blogs that seem to promote that image or spirit too much, I simply don’t follow.

    • October 10, 2015 7:10 am

      I don’t comment too much on other blogs either, if my only comment is “cool dress” do I really need to? Some times I still do, if I like that blogger or something.

  9. October 9, 2015 7:47 am

    Hey, Molly.

    I really enjoy reading your posts. I get them as emails, and I don’t always get a chance to read them right away, but I look forward to having a spare moment to follow you on a sewing journey.

    I would imagine that some sewists with blogs feel pressure to produce content because they have advertisers on their blogs and require a certain number of page hits or something. I know for me I find it pretty overwhelming when I go online looking for help with a technique and there are gobs and gobs of links and videos etc. It’s great, but it’s a lot to sift through. Some are certainly more helpful than others. I agree that pattern review is very helpful but it looks like it was made in the 1980s era of web design 😉 ha ha

    I like your posts because they do seem real. It gets kind of overwhelming to see posts where the pictures are perfect, the models are gorgeous and the garments are perfect (or pinned to look perfect in the photos, anyway).

    I have a stash of fabric and a machine and not much time. I like to upcycle things and occasionally construct things from scratch, and I find your commentary and experiences inspiring.

    You have your own unique style and voice and I enjoy reading what you do. It gives me inspiration. You do beautiful thoughtful work and you’re using it in the real world. It is down to earth, and I think that is a voice that is mostly missing in the sewing blogosphere!

    I hope you’ll continue to share your sewing adventures.

    • October 9, 2015 7:53 am

      Oh goodness. I just read my comment over and it could be taken the wrong way. I don’t mean to say that your photos (and models) aren’t gorgeous. I guess I meant that a lot of sewing blogs have super over-styled shoots with all the make up and hair and perfect lighting from the studio and twee props… Here’s yet another reason why not to comment, you can put your foot in your mouth! Ugh. I’m going to go back to my little quiet corner now…

      • October 10, 2015 7:15 am

        I got what you meant, no worries! I follow a ton of blogs because I mostly just scroll through to see the pictures, and if it peaks my interest I’ll read more. So I definitely see plenty of outfits and think “that looks so impractical” or something along those lines haha!

  10. October 9, 2015 7:56 am

    Well said, Molly. I’ve been reading all the blogging burn-out posts lately too, which just confirms the fact that having a large following is a ton of work to keep up, and I have neither the time nor desire to put that kind of work into my blog. My blog will always be small and personal, and since I blog purely because I enjoy it, I’m perfectly ok with that. Like others have said above, I prefer reading smaller, more personal blogs anyway (like yours)! I recently went on a week-long vacation during which I didn’t read a single blog post, and it was a wonderful break. I’m not saying I’m going to completely disconnect from blogs, but all the in-your-face posts can get really overwhelming sometimes.

    As for social media sites, I’ve basically given up! It’s just too much work keeping up with so many sites, and I’m really not interested in maintaining profiles just to promote my blog. I took a look at the Fold Line and decided to pass, and I’m not surprised *at all* that the blog is only linking to popular bloggers. Kollabora is awful about this. Ravelry is the sole exception and will forever have my love. 🙂

    The fact that sewing blogs are very cliquey has been talked about a lot over the past few years, and despite the influx of new and more diverse pattern testers (which is great), the situation only seems to be getting worse. I’ve never been popular in real life and certainly won’t win any popularity contests online, so I just do what makes me happy and leave it at that.

    I once read in a blog comment that small bloggers with a personal voice and genuine passion for their craft will always have readers, and I’ve found this to be true. Maybe not thousands upon thousands of readers, but enough to have a conversation and feel connected to others who share your passion. That’s enough for me. 🙂

    • October 10, 2015 7:23 am

      exactly. I’m pretty sure the cliqueyness will never go away, it happens everywhere so it must be something in human nature. People always think I’m shy, but I think of myself as reserved, I like to listen more than talk. It took two years of being in my sorority in college (my nerdy engineering-only sorority and college) for the other girls to finally understand how sarcastic and contrary I am! I’m not someone who makes friends in 5 minutes! But that’s ok because obviously there are other people who prefer honesty and sewing just because its fun. I think I’d be weirded out if I got a thousand site views.

  11. October 9, 2015 8:03 am

    “Now it seems every other blogger is talking about blogging burn out because they felt constant pressure to produce content”

    This.

    I am always confused by this. I do feel that often, when I read that, it’s someone who is trying to become “A Blogger”. Well, yeah…because you’ve taken the hobby aspect out of it! If you’re blogging for yourself (recording projects and trials/successes/etc) or you’re blogging to stay connected (I don’t always comment but I read. I always read.), or just blogging for fun…why do you feel *pressured*??

    I never feel pressured to blog. I try to include as much info as I can think of (and I’m not a writer so while I do proofread, I do not spend hours pouring over a blog post), I have my iPhone, no camera, so my photos are what they are, and I’m not going out on photoshoots (gah). I blog a lot because I sew a lot. I think people like my blog because that giddy enthusiasm that comes across is really, really real. Hahaha! Well, you’ve met me…you know!

    At any rate. I was not impressed by the Fold Line and I did not sign up. I am happy with PR (though the forums don’t have as much sewing talk lately), reading blogs, and Instagram. I’m even completely over the FB groups that I’m in. Hell, I’ve started commenting more on GOMI.

    I don’t have anything against the uber-popular-capital-B-bloggers but I don’t have many of them on my readers. I don’t want to be fed content. I just want to read about sewing, sewing and more sewing! 🙂

    • October 10, 2015 7:22 am

      awww…your’e my favourite nakisha. & spot on, i read you because you are giddy with enthusiasm. i might not always comment either, but I READ too! x

    • October 10, 2015 7:27 am

      And its so awesome that you’re able to express that giddy enthusiasm on your blog! I’ve found that sarcasm is not easily expressed in text!

  12. Sandra permalink
    October 9, 2015 10:47 am

    I agree. I do not like people who want to become teachers without having a sewing training in it. I do not like people who want to be DIY gurus. I do not like people who have blogs for t trying to sell me something. I have a blog to record my progress and surprisingly the photos have helped me improve my image and define tastes. finally I am a slow seamstress and also I feel an atmosphere of competition and rivalry among the community of seamstresses.

    • October 10, 2015 7:30 am

      I usually just ignore anyone who’s too competitive or trying to profit in a way I don’t agree with. But I don’t mind that some people are finding whys to make money on sewing. If there was no way to make money with sewing other than alterations or commissions, it wouldn’t be so popular right now and we wouldn’t have so many purchasing options.

  13. October 9, 2015 12:10 pm

    Probably why I read your blog and really enjoy it!?!?!—> “Maybe it’s just because I’m naturally a reserved, unsocial, sarcastic person that I feel suspicious or jaded about popular sewing blogs and community sites. ” I enjoy some good sarcasm !!

    Keep doing what you’re doing. I’ve detected only authenticity and your enjoyment of being creative 🙂 I heart sewing and being nosy and seeing what other people are making.

    • October 10, 2015 7:31 am

      Thanks! I always love being nosy about sewing

  14. October 9, 2015 12:11 pm

    I just wanted to leave you a comment that I read your blog! I read all sorts of blogs big and small, and I will say that I tend to prefer the smaller ones. I have a blog of my own, that I have become more sporadic on keeping up with, but it’s just a matter of life getting in the way. Something to do with a tween, a toddler, and a lot of recent travel for work. Also I’ve been meaning to let you know that I am currently in Ukraine, I don’t know what Pedro will be doing here (I am assuming Peace Corps.), but if she ever needs to talk with a fellow expat here, she is more than welcome to drop me a line.

    • October 10, 2015 7:35 am

      Oh sweet I’ll let her know, she constantly traveling around the region though – like right now she’s actually in Georgia. It’s crazy how many places she’s been, don’t think I’d be able to travel that much – I’d be so tired!

  15. Dawn permalink
    October 9, 2015 12:38 pm

    I don’t blog. I read sewing blogs to get inspired and see a variety of interpretations of patterns. I don’t know what a sewing celebrity is, unless it’s a teacher or designer who is respected for their work/encouragement of others. I’ve noticed some popular bloggers — and I think it’s because of their joy in the craft, and honesty in reviews — that’s why I read them. Inspiration.

    • October 10, 2015 7:36 am

      Same here, I like seeing all the different ways people sew and get ideas about how I can do things differently too.

  16. Beth (SunnyGal Studio) permalink
    October 9, 2015 8:30 pm

    Hi, I just happened across your blog – and you have sewn some great things. So you are now in my reader. And I hope you continue blogging! as for commenting, interesting thoughts. I try to comment, which maybe is easier as I mostly read on the laptop so easy to type comments. particularly on blogs of someone starting out. As for my own blog, I started it because it seemed like fun, and so far it is. I find that I really like the writing part of it as much as the showing what I sewed. Also I have made some great friends both local and global so I owe a lot to starting a blog. As for social sewing sites, and forums, they seem like a chore to me. or a big time suck. I looked at the Foldline and my main thought was why? It didn’t seem to offer anything at al. I will wait and see. I like Pattern Review purely for the database aspect, and being able to see a specific pattern sewn and worn by a variety of people. So I always look at it and thus contribute my reviews, since I get a lot out of it. Kind of a ramble…
    also I can be a bit of a bookworm or sewing nerd, so blogging has actually given me a way to connect those solitary hobbies to the outside world 🙂

    • October 10, 2015 7:42 am

      Thank you, I like reading you blog as well – its well written and great in depth reviews. Sometimes I think the writing part of blogging is what trips me up, I’m ok at writing but it’s kindof a chore at times. When that happens I usually just post pictures with minimal explanation!

  17. Laura Spike permalink
    October 9, 2015 11:19 pm

    Blogging and I are only sometimes compatible.I blog when I feel like it, and rarely about the same topic twice. I go from sewing to dolls,to furniture repair and landscaping.I hate fashion per se, but like your idiosyncratic blog because it punches holes in the envelope.

    • October 10, 2015 7:44 am

      That’s what’s great about blogging, you can do it however you like… I should sew for my dolls more now that you mention yours!

  18. October 10, 2015 2:39 pm

    I get that if someone has quite a few followers they might feel internally pressured to keep up with a certain blogging schedule. If they have a monetized blog or another sewing business, I suspect some of those posts are just venting their work stress, the way people sometimes do with their coworkers at a more traditional job. My cynical side can’t ignore the possibility that some of those posts are more of a brag “I’m so successful, I can’t handle it”, but rationally, most of the bloggers I follow seem to be nice people and I doubt they really are bragging even if it sometimes comes across that way. I assume the proliferation of community sites has something to do with enabling networking. I don’t need to network for any sewing business and I can barely handle the social interaction I already have to deal with so I rarely make time to post on them. For myself, I have a small blog. I’m not trendy, and I often sew for my kids (but not the crafty kind of stuff that more popular mommy sewing bloggers tend to do, mostly basic stuff that lets them blend in with their peers). I feel no pressure to post any certain amount of content or to apologize if I haven’t posted for a while either. The possibility that I might feel pressure to have to do those things or to actually have to interact with people even if I’m not in the mood are two reasons I don’t feel a need to have more than just a hobby blog. I don’t think it’s wrong to be a small blog not in it for money or popularity. It adds variety.

  19. October 11, 2015 6:05 am

    Hi Molly, your blog post made me step out of my cave – I agree with a lot of what you said, from the annoying unability to comment from a mobile device (I still don’t understand how Google and Apple and such have still not managed to do that), or the extremely annoying repetition of patterns and blog tours etc. It always seems that everything in the sewing world is revolving around a handful of bloggers. Good for them, but with so many people sewing, I’d enjoy some variety! I blog because I like the interaction with readers, and it makes me discover other sewists that will teach me something new. I like learning new stuff when I read blogs, not just scroll through pretty pictures. And as I aim to sew most of my wardrobe, I tend to prefer ‘real-life’ blogs such as yours. Keep blogging so I can hear a different voice 🙂

  20. October 11, 2015 6:16 am

    I’m one of those guilty ones who reads but don’t comment as much. I actually enjoyed your recent Jiffy post as I keep looking at that pattern!
    I keep thinking about this post so here I am.
    I tend to do everything on my phone so commenting can be exhausting in itself on a tiny screen. WordPress is best for me as the app makes it easier to read & comment.
    Perhaps I’m one blogger you are jaded about. That’s ok.
    I started blogging because I had no one IRL to talk to… blogging was helpful to get the ‘talking’ out of my system and I fortunately enjoy writing as much as sewing.
    As my blog continues, I have found it useful as a reference & also reviewing what worked and what didn’t. I’ve got no intention of making money off my blog (or designing patterns or teaching or anything like that), yes I do get sent a lot of free stuff these days. I also turn down a lot… as it’s exhausting, it’s not my job and it kills the joy I get from sewing.
    I also like to buy fabrics & patterns. I love the creative industries and I like to support them, personally – not just as a voice in the ether.
    I don’t blog as much and I don’t feel pressured to post. At first I did but exactly as you pointed out – it was me putting pressure on myself for absolutely no reason so I don’t worry about it. I just do it when I find time. I still enjoy the process – from the idea through to the blog post – more so without the imaginary pressure.
    I understand the seduction of new patterns but these days I only make things that have immediate appeal & feel like ‘me’ – and suit my lifestyle, such as the Fumeterre skirt & the McCalls 7242 recently. Alternatively I love to explore ideas and new approaches… which explains my Drape Drape obsession… which I’d love to return to sooner or later… when life permits.
    In the early days I posted more to Pattern Review, kollobora but rarely do these days. Time is precious and my family & job come first – as they should.
    I have wanted to get back to posting the odd review on PR as while it’s a clunky site, it is an excellent database and I still refer to it. I think it’s nice to contribute to some sites for those reasons.
    As for Foldline… I hope it develops. There does seem to be a real gap for a something more like Ravelry. Perhaps it will in time.
    Like Beth of Sunny Gal, I’ve made a lot of friends, some genuine wonderful friendships. That’s been the best thing.

    • October 12, 2015 9:23 pm

      I’m definitely guilty of not commenting also, mainly because I don’t usually know what to say. I just like when people show off the things they’ve made that have an actual purpose in their lives, like how you’re making maxi skirts right now because they suit you so well. Sometimes you can tell that a person sewed this trendy thing, but they’re never going to have a place to wear it. (I also love seeing all your beach pictures!)

      • October 12, 2015 10:24 pm

        LOL I suspect you will always see my beach photos. It’s the perfect excuse to walk the dog and the kids to have a swim. We have at least six easily accessible beaches in my town, two of which allow dogs ‘off leash’.
        I think many start out sewing ‘popular’ things however as time goes on I think many discover their style… or have the confidence to make the things that make them happy or are useful to their lives. I really should sew work clothes as I work 35-40 hours a week… but again it kills the joy in sewing so I just focus on my casual wear!
        All that said, I do love sewing something completely unexpectedly – simply because it’s fun!

  21. October 11, 2015 3:30 pm

    As a card carrying introvert, I fin d the blogland very confusing. I freak out if I get too many hits, but then wonder why I’m not getting more attention. I am a fickle beastie. I do the blog and post to pattern review, but all the other groups seem like a lot of effort to try to get to that cool lunch table again. I’m too old for 8th grade!

  22. October 12, 2015 6:10 am

    Don’t ever stop blogging! I love your posts and get really excited when there’s a new one 😊 also I really like your style and find a lot of inspiration in your makes-I like that you showcase things you wear to work because I want to make work-friendly clothes too😊 also I enjoy reading about your sis’ adventures. Lastly-you’re one of my favs because you sew from Burda mags which, usually, unlike indie patters and the like, I can get my hands on 😊 So yea, you just keep dancin’ baby!

    • October 12, 2015 9:18 pm

      Oh I’m not going anywhere haha! Sometimes I think Burda is way under rated (except maybe the instructions, those suck), they have a pattern for everything you could want and their sizing is pretty consistent. Every time a new indi pattern comes out, I just don’t get it because most of those patterns have been done before (probably by Burda)

  23. Robin Jones permalink
    October 12, 2015 10:28 am

    I like reading blogs, including yours, for inspiration and to assess how a pattern will look or fit if I try it–and I have this guilty sense of “I should give as well as take.” I like the idea of blogging, but I don’t like my image to be out there. I don’t want people in my industry to have access to my life outside of work. And I don’t want creepers on the Internet to have access to my photos. I can’t find a way to marry the two. If there was a sewing community type site that was more private and secure I’d be more open to being social. I don’t like using my phone to comment on blogs, so I rarely do. Maybe I can make more of an effort?! Thanks for your post on this topic, and all your blogging. I do enjoy reading it.

  24. October 12, 2015 11:20 am

    Reserved, unsocial and extremely opinionated…. 🙂 That’s why I like your blog so much! I have the same strengths, and, as I have literally no physical person in my (small) circle that cares one whit about patterns, grain, finishing, fibre content or fit, I blog. I can blather on about what’s exciting or not about a project when no on in my real life cares!!! haha! I like to share some of what I make because I love to do the making, and I have to share it with SOMEBODY sometime somewhere somehow or I’ll burst. As for PR, I love looking at the garment on ‘real’ people, and because I find that helpful, I post reviews of my makes over there… unless there are 100 other reviews of the same pattern…

    • October 12, 2015 9:15 pm

      That’s exactly why this blog started, no one to talk to! Being an introvert, I seriously doubt that will ever change since my husband just gives me blank stares when I start talking about clothing or sewing.

      • Mary permalink
        February 27, 2016 8:15 am

        Sometimes when you use sewing terminology during scrabble, he doesn’t want to allow it, right?
        Countered (at least in my home) with, well if you have a new technology term you can’t use it either. If it isn’t in the dictionary yet….. speaking of husbands glazing over during sewing monologues. 🙄

  25. October 13, 2015 12:48 am

    I always love reading your thoughts on the SBC, but I don’t always get around to commenting because I’m usually reading on my phone. I looked at that new site too and was not really sure why we needed another Kollabora…

    My blogging and sewing has slowed down drastically since having a baby, but I try to keep it up not for some blog reader audience, but for my own sanity. When I don’t do enough creating or don’t connect with adults about something other than work/SHB, I get cranky and grumpy. Sometimes, even though I don’t feel like drumming up the energy to do something, I force myself anyway because I know I’ll feel better about it afterward!

    I had to laugh at your poking at the engineer personality, because even though I’m not an engineer, I often feel the same way. Maybe it’s just being in STEM fields in general? At any rate, I am gratified that you’re deigning to cat-along 😉

  26. October 14, 2015 1:43 am

    Interesting thoughts. I sometimes wonder if I should stop blogging, but I like having the blog as a record of my sewing for myself. If others read and comment then that is a bonus!

  27. October 14, 2015 10:26 am

    I just saw this since you referenced it in your more recent post. (Does that tell you how far behind reading blogs I am?) I’m usually reading on my phone these days, until I can afford a new desktop computer at home, or on my work computer where I am now and thus able to comment more easily. I do comment once in a while on my phone, and while it’s not really difficult, it’s just slow. I’m a fast non-phone typer and commenting at 2 wpm sucks. lol

    Anyway … that was far too wordy but I just wanted to let you know that I love your blog. I love sarcasm, honesty, and whatever is the opposite of the SBC. It’s who I am and I can definitely relate. I think the SBC has a place esp. with helping sewing become more popular and accessible, but I’m always going to be on the outside looking in at that core group. That’s OK. I’m old now (hahaha) and more than happy to be selfish in what I give my time to.

    I hope you see by the volume of comments here how many others love your blog too. It may be bigger than you think. 😉

  28. October 14, 2015 4:19 pm

    I’m late to the party, but I wholeheartedly agree with you! Building and keeping up a large following is just not for me…too much work on the “business” side of blogging would mean less time to spend on the fun bits of actually making stuff! (That, and my unfocused little corner of the blogiverse is in no danger of winning a popularity contest anytime soon, so it’s prettymuch moot anyhow!) I totally blog for me–sort of a project journal (all my projects, not just sewing)…I like to go have a place to look through when I’m trying to remember something about that thing I made once but can’t quite recall when that was or what all the details were…it helps my scatterbrained self sort things out! And it’s fun to write up what little recaps of what I’ve done–gives me some perspective, and occasionally someone else stops by and sees what I’m up to, as well–always fun! I really like the smaller blogs for that–it feels less curated, and people can enjoy or not as they like.

  29. October 15, 2015 12:57 pm

    I’m late too! I’ve just returned to blogging after a 3 year gap, and when I stopped blogging I admit to feeling pressure to post regularly. When I worked part time I had plenty of time for sewing and blogging, and posted 2-3 times a week and had a lot of loyal readers. My job turned into a full time position and the spare time dried up and blogging fell by the wayside. I felt a pressure to post regularly because I wanted to keep in touch with my readers who mostly felt like friends, in a way I felt like I was turning my back on them and I even felt a sense of guilt. There is definitely an emotional attachment to blogging, especially when you connect with others through a hobby you love.

Trackbacks

  1. Being Un-Unsocial | Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

