Skip to content

Jiffy, Ambivalent

October 7, 2015
by

I’m on a mission to make more long sleeve shirts for work, but I’m trying to branch out from just button-ups because I dislike tucking my shirt in. This shirt is OK, but not quite perfect.  It feels like the pattern is trying to be oversized without actually being oversized if that makes any sense, because the shoulder seams fall down farther than a standard top, but not far enough I think.  Maybe I should have gone up a size to get it more boxy?  Also not a fan of the neckline.

IridescentShirt (1)

Pattern: Simplicity 1364, a retro reprint from their Jiffy collection.

S1364

Fabric: Purple and blue iridescent-ish (robert koffman?) cotton (really it’s just two thread colors woven in the warp and weft).  This is not a typical color for me, very cotton candy feeling, and I swear it was more blue in the store.

IridescentShirt (4)

Design Likes/Dislikes: The body is very comfortable and I think the dart fit well enough, the sleeves feel a little roomy but since there’s no stretch going on here that is needed.  The neckline is way to high, I like boat necks but this is verging on just a slight in the top to me. And like I said above, the shoulder seems feel like they should be either lower or higher.

I probably look grumpy because this was right after work, hence the wrinkles

I probably look grumpy because this was right after work, hence the wrinkles

Sizing and Fit: I made my ususal size 10. The bust fits well, but I need more room in the hips.

Changes: None, I even used the facings!

IridescentShirt (3)

For Next Time: If I make this again, I’ll look at grading between sizes or just using a size 12.  Not that this doesn’t fit and I will wear it, it just doesn’t feel quite “right.”

~Molly

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2015 10:25 am

    I like it. I see the places where you may not feel it’s ‘right’, but it’s a great woven top design. And on my monitor, it looks like a true periwinkle – more blue than pink/purple.

  2. October 7, 2015 10:41 am

    I made this top, decided I didn’t like it and now I can’t find it. I thought I put it in the time-out box but apparently it is gone.

    I agree that the shoulder is slightly dropped but not enough. It ends up feeling a tiny bit restricting. I personally love the neckline and if you’re a necklace or scarf wearer, maybe adding an accessory will help.

    The color is pretty fabulous!!!

  3. October 7, 2015 3:33 pm

    I think there’s nothing wrong with it but it’s a ‘background’ piece rather than a ‘statement’ piece. Have you tried styling it with different things? I think the colour would look great with black.

  4. October 14, 2015 12:48 am

    Lovely top. I used some of this fabric in a shirt once and it just got nicer and nicer each time it was washed.

So, what do you think?

