Skip to content

Inside Molly’s Head, Vol. 2

September 16, 2015

So I started this post back in May and never got around to finishing.  It feels like lots of stuff has being happening, and honestly it’s kindof overwhelming even when I’m not directly involved.  So here’s what I’ve found interesting, on the light hearted/non-political side of events, in the last few months:

  • I love costumes, I wish a made them more often but I also love making office wear so that usually wins out (practicality and all that crap).  But it’s awesome to see McCall’s embracing cosplay, on their regular website it can be kindof difficult to find the costume patterns.
  • Hilarious pattern covers with captions.  When we were little and went to the fabric store with our mom, my sisters and I would annoy her buy saying we didn’t like the patterns because of the model’s shoes or hair style.
  • Earth day was a few weeks back, and for crafty people it’s always important to keep recycling and re-usability in mind. As in “can something still be recycled after I’m done with it” and “am I improving something’s usefulness by modifying it.” It’s not really upcycling if you’re just going to have to trash it later.
  • I’ve always considered myself a very creative person, but there are two main things I’m not good at: meal planning (I can cook just fine but I can’t come up with food ideas, not that I like cooking anyways) and interior design.  But pretty rooms are just fun to look at.
  • Sewing patterns and copyright law, super exciting combo!
  • “Made in America” is a trendy thing for businesses to say these days (in the U.S. of course because that = local) but printing that on a tag doesn’t really tell the whole story.

~Molly

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2015 1:29 pm

    The Royal Ontario Museum had a wonderful exhibit last year of a local designer who designs specifically for people who use wheelchairs. I used to walk by her shop on a street while my kids were having their piano lessons and admire the ingenuity and quality of the clothing. You can see more about the ROM’s exhibit on their website

  2. Bia permalink
    September 17, 2015 7:09 am

    Three is a brand of 100% totally Made in the USA cotton fabric – AMB – American Made Brand. http://americanmadebrand.com/ Cotton grown, processed, woven, dyed, in America. Interesting article on what the rules on for “Made in America”.

So, what do you think?

