Skip to content

Purple Ties

September 4, 2015

Part 2 of “Making Things for Pedro, Summer 2015” is a purple tie blouse.  I think it turned out really cool.  My mom gave me a rolled hem foot for my birthday so I put it to good use finishing the ties (which are really fun to play with in my opinion).  The rolled hem foot was easy to learn, but it does not work on curved edges very well.

PurpleTies (1)

Pattern: Burdastyle #129 12/2014

Fabric: Purple polyester crinkle shirting from Fabric.com, easy to sew but impossible to press.  At least it will never get wrinkled in Pedro’s suitcase because it’s supposed to be wrinkled!

It's very windy at the top of the Nebraska capital building

It’s very windy at the top of the Nebraska capital building

20150822_131900

Design Likes/Dislikes: I love the raglan sleeves (with shoulder darts) and the ties are really fun even though they’re just long rectangles.  The instructions for this pattern were not good so I didn’t really follow them too much. If it weren’t for the ties I would have used bias tape to finish the neckline, instead I used the provided facing and tacked it down anywhere I could because the fabric does not press.  Bias tape still probably would have worked, but I couldn’t make bia tape from self-fabric because it wouldn’t take a crease.

PurpleTies (5)

Sizing and Fit: Size 44, it’s a little tight on Pedro but she says it’s fine. She probably actually needs a size 46.

Changes: I left off the collar, it’s a weird shape and too big I think.

PurpleTies (2)

I call this "Villain in a Wind Storm"

I call this “Villain in a Wind Storm”

For Next Time: If Pedro wants another one of these I would probably grade out a little to give her more room.  I’d also consider making this for myself!

~Molly

No comments yet

So, what do you think?

