Skip to content

Solid Skirt

August 8, 2015
by

Well I warned you that I’d be M.I.A. for a bit.  We moved to a townhouse about 4 blocks from our old house.  I really hate moving, but this new place is really nice so maybe we’ll stay here longer.  Anyways, I finished this skirt in June (before the move) and it’s my go-to skirt for work now, it goes with everything and it’s comfortable! Yay for butt princess seams!

SolidSkirt (1)

Not the best pictures, I had to bump up the contrast on them. I really need to figure out how to use my phone with a timer because it has a better camera than my actual camera!

Pattern: M5817, out of print

M5817

Fabric: Stretch polyester twill, poly lining

Design Likes/Dislikes: Simple lines and NO DARTS OR PLEATS! I don’t mind darts, although they’re annoying to sew, but I hate pleats on my skirts, they’re too poofy on me.

SolidSkirt (2)

Sizing and Fit: I made a size 10, should probably reshape the hip area a little next time. It’s just a bit more curvy than me. My hem is 3″ so next time I should also probably shorten it at the “shorten here” line so that my back vents are longer, oh well.

SolidSkirt

Changes: I added a lining by just cutting out the skirt pieces again.

SolidSkirt (3)

Love this skirt, now I just need it in some cool prints to go with solid colored tops.

~Molly

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2015 8:28 pm

    This is gorgeous. Simple but fantastic. And I love the lining!

Trackbacks

  1. VM Wear | Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

