Skip to content

Professional Scrap Wrangler

May 11, 2015

Now that it’s finished this shirt looks kindof western to me.  I was thinking the black and white color blocking would make it really modern looking, but the curved yoke kindof kills that.  Oh well, I still like it.  Lightweight long sleeve shirts are always needed in an office environment, no matter what season it is outside, so I’m sure this will get plenty of wear.

WesternBlock (5)

Pattern: V1387 by Rebecca Taylor

Fabric: Rayon challis scraps (so little what left that I actually threw away the rest of the black! woohoo stash busting)

Design Likes/Dislikes: There are a lot of cool details in this shirt, some of which might be a little fussy though, like the bias strip between the front yoke and the main front piece.  But I like the split collar a lot and the sleeve cuffs (first time doing sleeve plackets like that and only one was lopsided!).  The pleats on the front are fiddly, and I don’t understand why they can’t be gathers like there are on the back.

WesternBlock (2)

WesternBlock (1)

Sizing and Fit: Overall it feels a little big, for reference I made a size 10 like I always do.  I know I’m short so I’m not talking about the length, but I think the shoulder seams hang maybe 1/2″ off where they should.  This is a very long shirt though, and the curve of the hem is pretty extreme in my opinion.  The front pleats are the only bust shaping so if they don’t lay correctly it can be annoying, and the button placket doesn’t help either because it’s actually cut straight the curve only comes from the other front pieces (and my boobs).

WesternBlock (4)

Changes: I had to the piece the sleeves together, down by the placket, but I don’t think anyone can tell.  I didn’t use snaps, just because I didn’t have any and I’ve never used snaps before.  So the button hole placement might not be completely even, they’re surprisingly hard to place without marks.

WesternBlock (3)

For Next Time: I seriously doubt there will be a next time.  This is a very nice shirt, but it’s pretty fiddly in general.  A great project for anyone who wants a bit of a challenge without too many fit issues to work through.  IF I made it again I would gather the front instead of pleats and change the hem curve.

~Molly

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2015 10:52 am

    I love this top! I agree it looks kind of western-y, but I’m into that so there! I’ll have to add it to my pattern wish list.

  2. May 12, 2015 7:00 am

    I actually really like this too, especially with the contrast yoke. I find it strange that the button placket is cut straight though, as it really looks angular in the model photo. Maybe they pressed it into shape? Why wouldn’t they just make an angled piece in the first place? Anyway, this shirt looks perfect for the office, and it’s a nice change of pace from the typical button-down.

  3. June 3, 2015 1:00 pm

    Cute pattern! If you want to pass the pattern along… 😉 It looks great on you, and I don’t see Western in it. The fit looks great on you.

So, what do you think?

