Skip to content

Reorganizing the Stash

May 6, 2015
by

I like to organize my stuff, because I’d probably be a hoarder if I didn’t and I think it’s fun.

FabricStorage (7)

Earlier this year I cataloged all the books I own (well, I’m actually not done yet, but text books didn’t sound like much fun so I haven’t done those yet), and now I’ve just finished refolding and cataloging all my fabric!  I’ve always had my fabric in storage tubs by a general category, like woven and knit, and that same system is still basically in place.  I really needed new tubs though, one of my old ones was literally crumbling when you tried to pick it up (the handle snapped off when I was taking it out to the recycling).

FabricStorage (6)

Now my boxes are so pretty to look at!  The giant box with the red lid is all quilting cotton, “someday” I want to make a quilt… don’t hold your breath.

FabricStorage (2)

FabricStorage (1)

Mr. Husband kept coming down to the cave and asking what I was throwing away, my response was empty boxes.  I think he thought I was going to purge.  Ha, no.  I did throw a couple little pieces of fabric that I just couldn’t see a purpose for and were really small scraps, but not much.

FabricStorage (10)

While I was refolding everything I cut off a little corner and stapled it to one of these cards you see above.  I just made them up on my computer and printed them on some business card paper I had.  This is the first time I’ve ever tried real cataloging of my fabric, so we’ll see if I keep up with it or if it helps.  I think it will be nice to have the length listed there.  I still need to hang them on a string or something, maybe tie them to the box they correspond with.

Do you try to tame your stash in anyway?

~Molly

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Bia permalink
    May 6, 2015 7:14 am

    It is lots of fun reorganizing… almost like when you bought the fabric in the first place!

  2. May 6, 2015 9:34 am

    Gosh. I used to be super organized with my stash, including making use of little swatch cards, but that nice, neat system went by the wayside about a decade ago. In all fairness, I find it’s sometimes easier to ‘go shopping’ and find something I forgot about. It’s cheaper that way. And I like to pull out the entire yardage of fabrics occasionally, because looking at them draped on a dress form can give birth to good ideas.

  3. LSV permalink
    May 6, 2015 10:18 am

    I did a year or so ago, but have not kept up with it which is a pain. With plans for stash busting, i will try it again! I also use plastic tubs 🙂

  4. May 8, 2015 10:00 pm

    I’m impressed! I just keep throwing the new fabric I buy in my closet and shutting the door before anything else can fall out :)-

So, what do you think?

