Skip to content

Aspirational Patterns

April 29, 2015
by

For Decoration Only.

M7154

 

Well, not really, but that’s the way it ends up most times.

Yes, I purposefully buy patterns that I know I’m never going to use.  Doesn’t everybody? Well at least where I live in the US, Big 4 patterns are cheap.  Like less than a small cup of coffee cheap.  So why not?  I’m pretty sure M1754 above is going to be an aspirational pattern for most everyone that buys it (although if you switch out the skirt, it could be a really cool everyday dress)… because I’m totally buying it so I can look at the pretty picture.

Some other aspirational patterns have are these:

V1177

V1248

S1755

It’s harder to justify buying independent sewing patterns just for the sake of having because they’re more expensive, but there are plenty I’d love to have (the problem really, is that Big 4 patterns usually have a good substitute for any indi pattern I really like. And practicality tends to win that battle).

Do you buy patterns for inspiration even if you know you’ll never make them?

~Molly

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2015 6:54 am

    You know it!

    I have some Vogues for sure that are just for the pretties. There’s one pattern I’m tempted to sew, just because, and in the smallest size so I have no dog in the fight. I keep thinking that’s a good way to handle the aspirational sewing pattern 🙂

  2. April 29, 2015 7:23 am

    I’ve got the Vogue skirt & triple collar pattern… although I do intend to sew it LOL
    I tend to collect styles that interest me and features I love, draped designs, cutaway shoulders.

  3. Bia permalink
    April 29, 2015 7:31 am

    V1248, with all that exta fabric at the hips, would make me look like a tanker ship! I do buy patterns I know (deep down) that I won’t make. But … maybe!

  4. April 29, 2015 8:10 am

    Like you said, who doesn’t buy patterns for these reasons?! I have loads. Loads! Sometimes I make them up, but the garments hang in my closet, because one seriously requires a certain attitude to wear them well. My excuse? Reference. Because I don’t draft patterns, and am, quite frankly, not interesting in being a pattern maker. So I have them should the need for that particular detail arrive. 🙂

  5. April 29, 2015 12:43 pm

    I may have to buy the last pattern specifically to make it in teal and plaid just like the picture. I *try* not to buy things I won’t eventually make, but at the moment my sewing time is limited enough that buying any is probably buying aspirationally, to be honest.

  6. April 29, 2015 9:09 pm

    Yes! All the time. That mccalls pattern is absolutely beautiful. I am definitely going to buy it for the pretty picture.

  7. May 1, 2015 11:12 am

    I get it; I buy aspirational patterns all the time, and when they are 5 for $5, can’t resist! That top one is a must have (and if I get married again one day…)

So, what do you think?

