Skip to content

Inside Molly’s Head – April 2015

April 10, 2015

So I’ve done some link oriented posts before, but I’m never sure if other people care about them.  I like sharing the things I think are interesting because they’re usually offbeat or related to some other interest I have, not the typical sewing themed roundup of favorite projects or new pattern releases (I would get too snarky talking about pattern releases). I also can’t come up with an awesome name for these posts, it’s a problem…

  • How Superhero Costumes Are Made, ‘nuf said.  I am not impressed with the new Supergirl costume, it’s stuck in the 50s
  • Myra Chung won first place in the studend category for Hand & Lock’s embroidery contest. Until maybe last year I’d never heard of Hand & Lock, but it’s pretty awesome that they’re keeping highly skilled embroidery in the public eye.
  • I’m sure you’ve heard about the Mary Kondo tidying kondomania, and at first it sounds great, but the more I learn about it, the less I think it really fits with the ingrained American (and probably other countries) idea of using “all parts of the Buffalo.” This article from NYM’s The Cut sums up my feeling pretty well.  Even still, Pedro bought the book and will be giving it to me when she’d done with it (and her tidying).  I think she’s planning on doing a review in the future too.
  • The Threadcult podcast is not new, but I don’t hear much word-of-mouth about it on the blogosphere which is really a shame.  Personally I really dislike most of the sewing podcasts out there, they’re all just some random lady having a chitchat with another lady that happens to do something sewing related. It’s like gossip almost. And most of the time it feels like the host just wants to shower their guest with compliments, not have a meaningful conversation.  Anyways, Threadcult is more my speed: technical, experts, historical facts, and all about textiles and sewing. There hasn’t been a new episode in a while, but I’m sure it’s not an easy job.
  • This is kindof disturbing, it will definitely make you had main stream advertising even more.
  • And because I don’t have enough books to read as it is*, here is the top novels of the 21st century, so far.

Thoughts?

~Molly

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2015 2:46 pm

    Well, I for one really like your linky posts. I always end up places I’ve never been and learn things I didn’t know, and that’s always worth a lot in my books! I have my own thoughts on the kondomania craze, which could possibly put a damper on profit margins, but hey! And Myra Chung’s embroidery is astonishing. BTW, the title of this post is great. 🙂

  2. Bia permalink
    April 11, 2015 7:49 am

    I like seeing what you or other people link up in posts. Always very interesting. I “try” but not very hard, to de-clutter and downsize. I seem to think I might use something someday.

  3. April 12, 2015 6:26 pm

    These are pretty cool and no, I wasn’t aware of them so thanks for sharing. I knew about threadcult and have listened to a few of the early ones but sort of lost interest after. Must revisit that.
    Have you been following the sad/rabid puppies gaming of the Hugo awards? I’ve sort of been following it through Charlie Stross and Scalzi’s blogs and a couple of other scifi things online. Bit depressing but there’s always the ‘no award this year’ option.

So, what do you think?

