Skip to content

Frozen Fingers and A Bow Tie

March 21, 2015

Hellohello!

I like to jokingly call my sewing space the “sewing cave.” I’ve called it that for a while now, no matter where it actually is in the house/apartment probably since I started dating Mr. Husband.  He likes to tease me that I’m a sewing monster (who later turns into a laundry fairy when he runs out of clean shirts…) only emerging from the cave for chocolate and cartoons.  But the house we live in now, my sewing cave is in the lower basement, fully underground with no windows, so it really is kindof a cave.  And it’s effing freezing in the winter (but dry as a bone thank g-d).

FrozenBows1

So its ironic then that I made the most light weight, breezy, summer dress that I own.  In December (and January and February…).  In the freezing sewing cave.  It took me forever to finish, not because it was hard or anything, because I had to weight the options and consequences of either a) happily sewing, but having frozen penguin toes (forget about trying things on down there) or b) being warm and lazy upstairs, most likely on my bed with a cat on my lap.  Most of the time I choose to stay upstairs and read.

Obviously I finished the dress (before the last one even), and I assumed I wouldn’t be able to wear it up here in the land of frozen lakes until at least June.  But we had a warm snap (60 degrees! in March!), so I actually got to take it out for a test drive.  But I work in an office, and sleeveless dress can never be worn solo no matter what time of year due to artificial climate control.

Pattern: Salme #134 Pussy Bow Dress

 

Sleeveless elastic waist dress featuring a narrow sailor collar with bow detail. Very quick and easy to make, though the collar may require some previous sewing experience. Armholes are finished with bias tape.

FrozenBows2

Barely warm enough to go outside sleeveless, but as you can see, the pond is still frozen.

Fabric: Cotton voile bought at Drygoods Design in Seattle.  This must be a record short about of time from vacation purchase to finished product, only one year!  Less than a year actually!  And to make sure this dress doesn’t bite the dust, I even used french seams throughout (it was hard to remember to do that though, since it’s not muscle memory, so I ended up ripping seams out a lot.  Totally worth it though).

Design Likes/Dislikes: I always like the look of tie bows on blouses and dresses, but they always seem way too big for my small chest so this one is really nice that the tie is pretty thin but still gets the job done.  I didn’t like making the split in front and it’s probably not necessary other than to make the tie work better.  I didn’t try very hard to follow the directions for the split, but they were a little confusing.

FrozenBows3

Sizing and Fit: I probably should have gone down a size, I think Salme patterns might be drafted for someone much taller than me.  I ended up cutting the 1 1/2″ off the bottom of the bodice (after redoing the elastic twice to try and get it tight enough to just billow up at the waist), because it just looked sad and saggy.  The bust darts are definitely too low on me.  Other than the length, its hard to tell much about Salme’s sizing since this dress is very loose fitting.

I need to figure out a better jacket or cardigan option though, this one made the collar bunch up in the back all day and bug me

I need to figure out a better jacket or cardigan option though, this one made the collar bunch up in the back all day and bug me

For Next Time: It’s a nice dress, but I’m not sure if/when I’ll make this again.  Too many fish in the sea as they say… or lake if you’re landlocked like me.

~Molly

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2015 12:28 pm

    It’s a gorgeous colour and looks really good on you. My sewing space in the basement, too, where the video games and TV are, so I’m often distracted while I sew when the DDs are playing/watching.

  2. March 24, 2015 7:32 pm

    It’s really lovely! The color is great too. Hope the warm weather comes soon so you can wear it outdoors!

    Deer and Doe has a dress similar to this, don’t they?

  3. August 20, 2015 1:49 am

    That colour makes your eyes look beautiful. I don’t think that style would suit me as I don’t really have a waist for the elastic to work out where to go. Looks great on you though.

So, what do you think?

