Skip to content

Embroider All The Things

December 17, 2014

I’ve made embroidery a habit, there is nearly always an in-progress project near the couch nowadays.  It’s great for mindlessly watching sporting events (Mr. Husband has become a hockey fan now that we live in the State of Hockey).  But I’m slow on blogging them so here are several I’ve finished in the last few months.

Catnap Cowtow:

My last cowtow! It’s like the end of an era… kindof!

Catnap (3)

Catnap pattern by Bee’s Knees Industries

All five cats are slightly different

All five cats are slightly different, but my lighting was bad so I only got clear pictures of these two

Catnap (8)

Sashiko Pillow Kit:

I’ve been wanting to try this kind of embroidery, which is basically just a running stitch, but I wanted to use the correct materials.  So when I visited Crafty Planet, I got this pillow kit (I’d rather have had a geometric design but this is pretty too).  At some point I’ll do some more of this because lining up the stitches that intersections was surprisingly challenging.

Sashiko (1)

 

Sashiko (3)

Sashiko (2)

Sashiko (5)

This is my backyard the day I took these pictures. Oh how I miss the green and liquid water!

This is my backyard the day I took these pictures. Oh how I miss the green leaves and liquid water! Everything is white and frozen right now

Christmas Angel Wings:

This one isn’t my favorite, but I think it gets the point across… the point being CHRISTMAS.  But the end result is kindof kitchy and a little strange? It’s ok.  I was probably just too excited about this christmas thread assortment from Sublime Stitching, with white and a darker green added in.  FYI, that metalic thread of theirs is a bitch to stitch with.  Seriously not fun.  The wing pattern also happens to be from Sublime Stitching, but that’s just cause I couldn’t find a good complete angel that I like anywhere.

ChristmasWings (4)

ChristmasWings (6)

The fabric was too stiff for stitching really, so it left all those puckers, but I don’t really care because it’s shiny (which you can’t really tell from these photos…)

ChristmasWings (12)

ChristmasWings (10)

ChristmasWings (8)

And there you have it.

~Molly

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen permalink
    December 17, 2014 9:50 am

    I think you do fantastic work!! Love it!!!!! Thanks for sharing.

  2. December 17, 2014 10:40 am

    I love the catnap one – so cute!! I’ve been inspired by sashiko as well and would love to try it someday – yours turned out beautifully 🙂

  3. December 17, 2014 11:18 am

    Embroidery is my first needle & thread love – much more so than sitting at a sewing machine! How wonderful to have something on the go all the time. The shashiko is gorgeous. I’ve never looked closely at that technique – too intimidated by the reputation of Japanese thread painting in microscopic-width threads to give anything Japanese a try. Thanks for sharing all your projects.

So, what do you think?

