Skip to content

Snow Snow Snow Dress

December 10, 2014
tags: ,
by

Not a whole lot to say here besides I like blue and this dress is super comfy.  Also, it’s cold up here in the North lands but I went outside without a coat on and was totally having fun with it.  Later I wore this to my company holiday party.

SnowDress (1)

Pattern: Vogue 8665

Fabric: Ponte-like knit, but it feels stretchier than other pontes, so maybe it’s just a thick interlock?  I don’t know, but it’s soft and BLUE.  The pattern says it can be used for woven fabrics too, I have no idea how that would feel though, maybe a stretch woven would be fine.

SnowDress (4)

Design Likes/Dislikes: I like the shaped seams and cap sleeves a lot.  I’m not usually a twirly skirt girl but the fullness of this skirt is hidden pretty well (meaning not too poofy).  The front neckline is higher than I expected and the back neckline is lower than I expected but neither are bad, I like them, just not what I expected.

SnowDress (3)

Sizing and Fit:  I made my usual size 10 and this dress came out super big, but that could possibly be because my knit is stretchier than called for.  Thankfully there are lots of seams to adjust the fit with!  I took in an extra 5/8″ on the side seams and the center back seam (did not want to mess with the curvy shaped seams).  Easy.  If I had used a woven, I bet the fit would have been better right out (what I’m saying is if you make this, don’t expect it to run small just because of my experience, always do your own fitting first!).

SnowDress (2)

Changes:  I left off the zipper.  The zipper is probably only necessary for woven fabric.  The instructions have you bind the neck and arm holes with bias tape, and that would work great for a woven, but not for knit.  So I experimented with finishes and decided to use a strip of fabric for binding(lengthwise with the stretch), folded in half and zigzagged to the dress edges.  The binding strips were about 80% of the neck and arm hole circumference, stretched to fit.

IMG_7337

The top binding is what I ended up using

For Next Time: Not sure I’ll get around to making this again, there are too many other patterns in the world!  Especially since it doesn’t have any variations.

SnowDress (5)

~Molly

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Bia permalink
    December 10, 2014 6:44 am

    cute, cute, cute!

  2. December 10, 2014 6:59 am

    Super cute dress! I’ve been trying to work up the courage to do an outdoor photoshoot. I have one planned out in my mind, but it’s a matter of really wanting to show off the dress in negative temperatures. You given me the motivation to do so.

  3. December 10, 2014 12:55 pm

    LOVE this!!! It is really nice and looks amazing on you!

  4. December 11, 2014 5:58 pm

    Love this! And your choice for neck binding is the only way to do an edging on a knit fabric, imho. Easy and clean finished. Great dress!

  5. December 11, 2014 6:01 pm

    This is so cute, and perfect for a holiday party! Hope you’re keeping warm these days. I’m very impressed by the outdoor photo shoot in the middle of winter. 🙂

  6. December 12, 2014 9:16 pm

    Love the twirly-ness! I don’t normally see you in twirly skirts but it suits you. And your hair looks great, too!

So, what do you think?

