Skip to content

Tank with Tiny Pocket

November 12, 2014

Even though my last Tiny Pocket Tank (minus the tiny pocket) was a little tight, I still wear it often so I threw caution to the wind and cut out 4 more TPTs at once.  Except this one is still tight even using the correct seam allowance (1/2″ instead of the normal 5/8″), so I think on the next 3 I’ll sew the side seams even smaller… but then I also realized after the fact that I should have trimmed the arm hole seam allowance down when doing the bias binding so that could also factor into the tightness 😦 dumb. Next time I’ll get it right!  If I hadn’t already cut the other 3 out I would probably have sized up instead (even though that would mean printing and cutting and taping again boo)

SparkleTinyTank (3)

Pattern: Grainline Studio Tiny Pocket Tank

 

Fabric: Black cotton with silver threads bought earlier this year in Seattle.  What. I’m actually using fabric bought in the same calendar year! What is this blasphemy?

Design Likes/Dislikes: Love the swingy loose shape, no fear of feeling constricted… except at the arm holes but we’ve already talked about that. The neckline is bordering on too low though.

SparkleTinyTank (1)

SparkleTinyTank (2)

Sizing and Fit: Tight in the bust, see above.

Changes: None, I even used the tiny useless pocket! but instead of hemming the pocket, I cut two out and sewed them right sides together to enclose the seams. I should have finished the side and shoulder seams because the metallic threads are a little itchy, not enough to stop me from wearing it yet.

And here is what happens when you prop your camera up on a box on your bed...

And here is what happens when you prop your camera up on a box on your bed…

Helpful kitten, always.

Helpful kitten, always.

For Next Time: Smaller side seam allowances and trim the arm holes down.

Quick and (mostly) painless.

~Molly

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2014 8:14 am

    I think I’m most entertained by the propping of the camera on a box!

    Cute tank. And a useless tiny pocket or two is okay… 🙂

  2. November 12, 2014 8:43 pm

    I personally like that useless little pocket. Cool fabric!

  3. November 12, 2014 9:11 pm

    Meanwhile, I am in love with your sneakers and laces.

So, what do you think?

