Skip to content

Disco Burda

November 1, 2014
by

So this dress is a little… different, at least for me.  But in the name of experimentation, I will show you what I’ve made.

This is how I'd "style" this dress if I was going as a 60s-ish go-go dancer for Halloween... but being mostly anti-social I had no reason to dress up this year so I didn't really make a costume

This is how I’d “style” this dress if I was going as a 60s-ish go-go dancer for Halloween… but being mostly anti-social I had no reason to dress up this year so I didn’t really try to make a costume.

Pattern:  Burda Young 7056, view A

Click photo for link to the German Burda site (the Simplicity site is stupid)

No-frill dresses for the confident woman, being the focus. All slightly flared, fitted at the back waist, shoulders left exposed. C with standing collar, B to fit the evening, with feathers at the hem.

I’ve been trying to pick a pattern to use with my precious Marimekko fabric (bought more than two years ago on my honeymoon) and I’m finally getting around to testing this one.  Since I have two different cuts of 2 yards of that fabric I think I will use this pattern, but maybe widen the shoulders out to be more bra friendly.

DiscoBurda (3)

Fabric:  Stretch cotton, similar to the weight of quilting cotton, bought a while ago at Denver Fabrics (the physical store, not the website.  They’re not related) in Littleton, CO.  I wish I had noticed it had stretch in it because the Marimekko fabric does not.  I was just trying to get something with a similar weight when I picked this out.  The colors are not my normal thing, it reminds me of the 60s or 70s.

DiscoBurda (6)

Design Likes/Dislikes:  First off, when Burda says mini dress, they mean it.  I would not wear this to work, so for the next round I’ll be adding length (hopefully that doesn’t make it look frumpy…).  As is, it’s fine for Halloween or just a weekend summer dress, but it probably won’t get a ton of wear (lets face it, I’m just not a Dress Girl most of the time).  I like the cut of the shoulders, but it doesn’t work with my normal bras so I will widen them for the final dress.

DiscoBurda (2)

Sizing and Fit:  I made a straight size 10, and had no fitting issues, but usually I don’t have fitting issues.  I’m 5’4″ and I would consider this dress short on me so if you’re taller and don’t like minis, best to just lengthen it right away!

Changes:  None

This is not a dress length meant for bending over!

This is not a dress length meant for bending over!

For Next Time:  Add length and widen shoulders… eventually!  I’ve got a few things in the queue to work through before I’ll get back around to this one, but I will for sure.

~Molly

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2014 7:06 pm

    Go-go immediately came to mind when the first picture popped up 🙂 I love it with the boots, but like you said – not really practical for work. I think it looks great on you though!

  2. November 1, 2014 8:20 pm

    It looks awesome! What about with thick tights or leggings, as more of a tunic for fall/winter wear? Toss on a shrug to hide the bra.

  3. November 2, 2014 3:56 am

    I agree it looks great even if it’s not the most practical dress. It’s a very good shape to show off a bold fabric

  4. November 2, 2014 7:45 am

    I love the cut in sleeves. You look great. You can do that length well!

    • November 2, 2014 7:46 am

      Ok, wait that doesn’t make sense…. I meant the cut in armholes? No sleeves on this dress.

  5. Melinda stein permalink
    November 2, 2014 9:56 am

    I think it looks great!
    Buy a racer back bra or a convertible strap one.
    Wear dark opaque tights or leggings!

  6. November 3, 2014 4:59 pm

    Love it! Perfect use for that fabric and it looks awesome on you. Your shoulders look great in that cut-maybe instead of widening the shoulders of the pattern just re-hook your bra straps so they’re cross backed?

  7. November 5, 2014 10:30 am

    I like this dress! It’s channeling the 60s perfectly. Now, ask DH for a date night and wear it out on the town!

  8. November 6, 2014 1:00 pm

    I love this – fabric, shape and all. In the 60’s, it wouldn’t have been considered short, haha! Maybe you could tunic-ize it with leggings to make it more wearable.

Trackbacks

  1. Shift Dress | Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

