Skip to content

It’s a T-Shirt, Charlie Brown

October 27, 2014
by

When I complained about all the t-shirt patterns in the market right now, I mentioned that even I had succumbed and bought the Renfrew pattern when I already have a t-shirt pattern that I know fits me well.  But the Renfrew has all the extra details and variations I was missing on my Butterick pattern, and I’m way too lazy to draft the changes I want!  Also I too can be a sucker for a shiny new pattern… that came out two years ago.  Hey, have you ever seen me follow the sewing trends? Not so much.

Renfrew (6)

Pattern:  Sewaholic Renfrew (in my head I always call it Renufrew, no idea why)

The Renfrew Top is a fitted knit top with sleeve and neckline variations. View A has long sleeves and a scoop neckline. View B has short sleeves and a deep V neckline. View C has a dramatic cowl neckline and three-quarter length sleeves. Mix and match any of the sleeves with any of the neckline options for unlimited possibilities!

Fabric:  Polyester blend knit from Hancocks.  Not the best quality (static!) but the print sucked me in, and it does have good stretch and recovery and it warm.  For being black and white, this print seems really loud, and everytime I look down the zigzags remind me of Charlie Brown.

Renfrew (3)

Renfrew (1)

Design Likes/Dislikes:  This was so fast to sew up, I loved not having to think about how I was going to hem anything.  I think the hem bands are really professional looking.  I chose to make the draped collar version because I wanted to wear this to work, not that there is probably anything wrong with wearing a regular t-shirt collar to work but I just think this looks more interesting and professional.

Renfrew (4)

Sizing and Fit:  I made a size 4 with no changes, it is a little snug but that is the way it’s intended.  If I was ever going to use a knit with less stretch I would definitely add some width.  The 3 quarter sleeves are the perfect length.

Renfrew (2)

For Next Time:  I’m definitely going to try the other neck variations.

~Molly

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Bia permalink
    October 27, 2014 7:17 am

    I like it alot!

  2. October 27, 2014 7:28 pm

    It looks great and not too low. I need a pattern that covers up the cleavage since I have a prosthetic breast on one side and always ends up showing a little bit when I lean over. I think this might just be the ticket! Thanks for showing your beautiful shirt.

  3. October 28, 2014 7:53 am

    Really digging the chevron. It’s a good, solid pattern and it worked very well for you – win! 🙂

  4. October 28, 2014 10:07 am

    Love your zig zags. I’ve only ever liked Renfrews whenever I see them, and yours is a really cool fabric.

  5. October 28, 2014 5:29 pm

    I love Charlie Brown! Your shirt looks great, fit and pattern. I also recently bought the renfrew. I was intrigued by the options as well 🙂 I hope mine fits as well as yours!

  6. November 6, 2014 12:56 pm

    Sometimes a new pattern needs to percolate a while before you know you want to buy it…

    I love the fabric you chose for this. Very elegant!

Trackbacks

  1. Renerick | Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

