Skip to content

Watch Out, Martha Stewart

October 18, 2014
by

Once the glue gun gets warmed up, there’s no stopping me!  I am a crafting ninja.  A spray paint wizard.  Queen of the ribbon!  I’ll have my own crafting empire in no time flat.

FallWreath2014 (22)

I’m pretty damn proud of myself, if you couldn’t tell.

I have a hard time pinpointing my feelings about holiday decor.  On the one hand Christmas decorating seems so fun, endless possibilities (even if I never seem to get to all my ideas). I lovelove Christmas ornaments (I am not christian though, so Christmas is just about family gatherings and tradition for us).  But decorating for most other holidays seems old lady-ish (Easter decor is kindof sickening, but I hate pastels in general so…).  Halloween can get very kitchy too, but I do like the fall seasonal look a lot.  Spring and summer are my favorite seasons in general, but I don’t like the decorations I’ve seen people come up with for them.

So I decided to throw as much irony into my Halloween/Fall crafting as possible.  Bring on the gaudy!  I’m interested in wreaths in particular right now, they are just simple circles, but there are so many possibilities because you can put whatever you want on them and everyone still knows what they are.  They just seem like a staple of holiday decorating to me.  So I made a gold gourd Halloween wreath of awesomeness!

I found some fake gourds at the craft store that had already been lightly spray painted gold, but I didn’t get enough and there weren’t any left the next time I went.  So I spray painted some orange ones! plus some paper mache skulls!

Not as gold as I thought they should be, but whatever

Not as gold as I thought they should be, but whatever

I got a “wreath frame” to wrap the ribbon around first.  The frame came with bits of wire sticking out all around it so I just used those to secure the ribbon and wove the ribbon in and out of the frame.  I didn’t worry about covering the frame 100% because the gourds would help with that also.

FallWreath2014 (18)

 

Nothing fancy

Nothing fancy

Here is the wreath before adding the gourds, doesn't look too bad just like that either!

Here is the wreath before adding the gourds, doesn’t look too bad just like that either!  I used the entire roll of ribbon, I think 25 yards?

Now for the hot glue!

Potato helps me pick the next gourd to glue on...

Potato helps me pick the next gourd to glue on…

Big gourds and skulls go on first

Big gourds and skulls go on first

And the final product!  I could really get into this wreath making business, this first one was such a great success that I’m pretty pumped to start planning my Christmas/Winter wreath.

FallWreath2014 (26)

FallWreath2014 (27)

FallWreath2014 (24)

 

Do you decorate for holidays?

~Molly

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2014 11:43 am

    Ooh, I like the combo!

  2. October 18, 2014 8:23 pm

    I love the skulls. Very cool.

  3. Dorothy permalink
    August 2, 2015 2:24 pm

    Very cool. The skulls give it a bit of a “Dia de Los Muertos” vibe.

So, what do you think?

