Skip to content

Writing Process Blog Hop

September 15, 2014
tags:
by

Kindof a boring name isn’t it?  I almost want to track it backwards to find out who started it and with what intentions (I tried to, I got stuck in a string of mommy/lifestyle-ish blogs…).

A post shared by Molly Pruess (@mtoferet) on

(I got Instagram a couple months ago, it’s mostly pictures of my cats (multiple, we adopted a kitten!))

Normally I think random “blog awards” are really annoying, they mean nothing!  So at least this one has a purpose other than sharing 10 random facts about ourselves… and there’s no stupid looking widget to display on your side bar…  Anyways, Carolyn of All Spice Abound nominated me to do this because in her words:

Molly is also one of the very few sewing bloggers out there who isn’t afraid to share her brutally honest opinions on various sewing-related issues.  She recently wrote a post about blogging networks that’s worth a read, and her post on the ubiquity of t-shirt patterns put into words exactly what I had been thinking.  I find her honesty refreshing and thought-provoking.

Helping #catstagram #catswhosew

A post shared by Molly Pruess (@mtoferet) on

  • What am I working on now?
    • Since I just finished that jacket that took forever, I am cutting out new projects.  My process is a little more systematic than most sewer’s seems to be.  I have a little set of 10 plastic drawers that are the perfect size for projects, so I fill them up with fabric and pattern combinations as I finish the previous project.  Then once I don’t have any more cut out projects, I cut out 10 new projects all at once.  I call it my queue.  Once something is in the queue it may take a long time for me to get to or it may be immediate, I just pick which ever looks like the most interesting project at the time.  My next project will be a Sew Bossy exchange that I’m really excited about.

I think these are instructions, but I can't quite make them out.. #wingingit #sashiko #embroidery

A post shared by Molly Pruess (@mtoferet) on

  • How does my work differ from others in the genre?
    • I think the main difference in what I do is that I am not girly or trendy or hipster.  I like bold colors, hate pastels.  I like streamlined, professional shapes, and hate puffy gathered skirts.  I like interesting details, but not overly complicated stuff, really dislike all the seen-that-before patterns out there (seriously, no point in starting a new pattern company if someone has already made exactly what you’re trying to sell.  Or repackaging an old pattern with a new number like the McCalls company does).  My dream wardrobe is office chic, not fancy dinner party.  Seriously, in college I would make things that I loved, but were way to formal for just going to class.  Thankfully those things are super useful now that I work in an office!
    • I have a pretty different sewing background than most women my age who blog about sewing.  I learned to sew from my mom and grandma when I was little, starting out with doll clothes, simple quilts, elastic skirts, ect.  But I never stopped sewing (except for my freshmen year of college when I didn’t have space for a sewing machine in my dorm room, it was a dark time indeed).  So I am far from a beginner.  I wouldn’t say I’m advanced just because I don’t do couture sewing, but that’s by choice.  I’m confident I could do a lot more things with my sewing, I just choose not to.  Maybe someday I’ll get bit by the welt pocket or bound button hole bug, but not today.  Anyways, what I’m getting at is I’ve had plenty of time before I started sharing on the internet to figure out my style.  Only in the last 4-5 years has my style “identity” really come into focus (so that’s about 15 years of randomly sewing whatever struck my fancy!  Hope it doesn’t take you all that long to figure out… but you’ve also got the online sewing world which I did not have).
    • And of course as Carolyn mentioned, I say what I mean.  I don’t like sugar coating things if I don’t have to, and seeing as how I’m not pointing fingers directly at anyone in particular (most of the time), I feel like I have the right to call out a little bull shit (especially when we’re being sold a product).  Obviously none of the things I’m talking about are all that relevant to world politics or human survival (we’re pretty much doomed, I think I should get a solar panel to power my sewing machine…), but I don’t hear anyone else saying this stuff most of the time and that really surprises me!  Especially when I do say something and people in the comment section agree… well, why didn’t you say anything?  I guess I’m just not afraid of what the internet thinks of me!

Sleepy Spot found a new bed on my pattern tissue #sickofyourshithuman #catstagram #catswhosew #sewaholic

A post shared by Molly Pruess (@mtoferet) on

  • Why do I write what I do?
    • I pretty much just write what I’m thinking, so I guess I’m mostly influence by what I’m sewing or seeing online.  Not very deep, but I’m not trying to change the world (I have an aversion to people trying to “convert” me to anything, so I try not to do it to anyone else… except Pedro… ).
    • I do like writing a little about things that annoy me in the online sewing world, but I actually feel like I hold back a lot – I could seriously complain about a lot more stuff than I do!  I’ve thought about doing a critical round up of newly released indie patterns, as apposed to new “big 4” patterns like a lot of people do, because I feel like people that don’t like these patterns just stay quiet.  It would probably offend people though because these pattern companies are mostly one-person shows, then again, they’re companies trying to sell us stuff so they deserve constructive criticism… I haven’t made up my mind yet.

The new addition to our fambly. Can only take pictures of her asleep because she moves so fast! #catstagram

A post shared by Molly Pruess (@mtoferet) on

  • How does my writing process work?
    • I sit down and write.  I usually don’t start writing until my projects are 90-100% complete, and I use a template of questions that I’ve modified from the Pattern Review standard review template so that I don’t forget any major points.  Taking pictures obviously doesn’t happen until I completely finish sewing.  My pictures aren’t very styled or interesting other than showing off the garment, usually I take pictures of how I actually wore the garment in real life, or how I want to try wearing it (sometimes I’m not sure what to wear a shirt or skirt with, so I take pictures of my different outfits to get a better idea).  I attempt to convey my feelings on the final project, the pattern, the fabric, if there’s anything to warn others about or if I’m really impressed with a pattern.  Once I finish writing, I reread the post a couple times and schedule it to automatically post in a couple days (I wait a couple days in case I remember something else I wanted to say).  Easy!
    • My opinion posts about sewing-related stuff take about the same amount of time, but it depends on how long the ideas have been simering in my head.  I definitely go back and reread the post a lot more before posting an “opinion piece” because I don’t want to single anyone out… mostly (I care less about singling out the bigger companies…)

Two cats sleeping #catstagram

A post shared by Molly Pruess (@mtoferet) on

So now I’d like to nominate Catherine of Catherine Daze’s Blog to keep the blog hop hopping.  Catherine has a really cool, modern (maybe futuristic) style that I love.

~Molly
7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2014 6:16 am

    Thanks for sharing. I also enjoyed your blog post on sewing networks. You were spot on. As far as criticizing Indie designers…I think most people keep quiet; that’s what I do. 🙂

  2. Bia permalink
    September 15, 2014 6:40 am

    Molly, I think you should be catagorized closer to an expert sewer than not! Just consider your wedding dress. Remember, you did take a high school sewing class – mostly so you could have more sewing time and get credit it for it, I think. Pedro did the same thing but did NOT turn into a sewer.

    • September 15, 2014 7:26 am

      No I don’t think I ever took a high school sewing class

  3. September 15, 2014 8:14 am

    Very cool read Molly!

    Like the idea of creating a queue – more literally than just sewing plans. I think I am heading in that direction. I have 3 projects I am *really* wanting done and think I’ll cut them this week while waiting for the next FM challenge to come out. Then I can do some sewing on them whenever I have time.

  4. September 15, 2014 4:10 pm

    I wish I was organised enough to cut out ten projects at once!

    Thanks for passing this on to me, I’ve been enjoying this series a lot. It’s interesting to read a blog tour that’s different at each stop and yet related to the usual content on the blog; I think that’s why this one works so well.

  5. October 16, 2014 8:27 pm

    I like the idea of a queue. I find the stalling points for me are between cutting and sewing (and then between sewing and altering). However, I also find making the space and time to cut very challenging – prepping the pattern has become it’s own first step just to speed things up a bit. I’ve always tended to cut things out and then not sew them for months (okay, years), moving the pieces around in tied up plastic bags. I think the queue idea is -great-, and if you feel like posting a photo of this ten-drawer organizer that’s working for you, I’d appreciate it!

Trackbacks

  1. Writing Process Blog Tour | Catherine Daze's Blog

So, what do you think?

