Skip to content

Ferris Pillow

June 13, 2014

Often I start embroidering things without a plan for a final product, which is the case here. I have a giant pinterst board full of embroidery patterns and inspiration so when I’m at a loss of what to embroider next, but just want to stitch, I scroll through it and try to pick something. This Ferris wheel pattern is a free pattern from Just Crafty Enough. I love Ferris wheels, they’re my favorite ride at summer fairs or amusement parks (one of the coolest Ferris wheels I’ve been on is the London Eye, which most people don’t seem to agree with me, but most people also don’t like Ferris wheels as much as me…). Did you know the Ferris wheel was designed for the Chicago Worlds Fair in 1893 by a civil engineer, it almost wasn’t built at all because everyone thought a giant spinning wheel would be super dangerous. It was seriously big too, 264ft. They also thought it would be a suicide magnet so the cars (that could hold up to 60 people each!) were completely enclosed (meaning the windows didn’t open basically).

12 inch x 12 inch pillow

12 inch x 12 inch pillow

History aside, I made this embroidered Ferris wheel on dark blue quilting cotton with white floss and made the bad decision to iron transfer the pattern with black ink, so I could only work on it in the daylight by a window. But it worked out fine and I finished it just a couple weeks before my cousin’s wedding, so I turned it into a little pillow cover for them as a gift. I’m pretty pleased with how well the whole thing came out since I was just cutting up rectangles as I felt like it and hoped they’d fit!

I didn't have enough of the first blue, but thankfully I have tons of blue quilting cotton for a maybe-someday-quilt

I didn’t have enough of the first blue, but thankfully I have tons of blue quilting cotton for a maybe-someday-quilt

~Molly

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2014 4:23 pm

    Cool, I love that!!

  2. June 13, 2014 7:25 pm

    Cool pattern, your Ferris wheel cushion looks great! (And I love the London Eye too!)

  3. July 2, 2014 4:34 am

    Oh this is really lovely, great design! And I like the nod- to sashiko with the white on blue stitching.

So, what do you think?

