Skip to content

A Dress Finally Get’s Its Day In The Sun

June 9, 2014
by

I made this dress so long ago, I don’t have any idea how many years it’s been hanging in my closet – too pretty to giveaway, too fancy for any normal event. I do know I made it in college, possibly as a possible sorority formal dress, but I decided it needed a self fabric belt to look best (I still have my leftovers of this silk deep in the stash just for that purpose too), but never got around to doing it. Something about all those long darts in front makes the proportions look funny to me. A fancy catholic wedding seemed the most appropriate place to finally give it’s due.

I apparently had a difficult time standing still for pictures this day

I apparently had a difficult time standing still for pictures this day, it’s probably Pedro’s fault somehow.

Pattern: B6582, Semi-fitted dress, mid-calf has gathered shoulders and back zipper. A: attached bow. A,B: straight, back vent. C: flared, belt. Purchased petticoat and belt-kit.

B6582, apparently I just copied that blue dress lady in the back…

Fabric: Blue dupioni silk (?) (anybody know how to wash this stuff without loosing the shine?)

Design Likes/Dislikes: I like the idea of the shoulder gathers and cross over front, but in reality the neckline is a lot higher than I originally thought it was supposed to be, and I didn’t do a very good job getting even gathers so they’re barely noticeable. I also (still) think all those long darts in front and back might look better broken up by a belt, maybe. Maybe someday I’ll get around to the belt idea to finally test that theory… ha! This dress isn’t leaving me though, the fabric is too pretty.

BlueSilkShantung (4)

Sizing and Fit: I assume I made a size 10, because I always do. The fit is spot on, is it strange that I (basically) haven’t changed sizes in probably 10+ years? Makes for easy sewing, that’s for sure. Again, I think the front neckline is too high, but it doesn’t choke or anything, the back neckline is lower than the front which adds some variety to the dress. Of course I don’t think I got any pictures of the back of the dress…

BlueSilkShantung (9)

Changes: I probably just shortened the dress, vintage repro patterns are always so long.

For Next Time: This is a pretty dress, but I won’t be making this pattern again. I only like it this much because it fits and the fabric is awesome anyways.

BlueSilkShantung (8)

 

~Molly

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2014 7:11 am

    Hey Molly,

    I think the dress does fit you really well. This is a pattern I had picked out for myself, it is so sophisticated and simple, I love seeing how it came out on you. It appears to me from comparing the photos in the pattern cover and your photos, that the croquis models wear the design with the shoulder straps pushed out and down over the point of the shoulder. Thus, the armhole angles up and out slightly, which would widen and lower the neckline slightly and also take up some of the bunching above the bust line. In your photos, as you are wearing the dress, the entire shoulder is exposed, the armhole goes directly vertical, which appears to create bunching in the gathers in the front above your bust, raises the neckline, and shortens the width of the neckline. Try pushing out the shoulders and wearing your hair up for the full effect! I’m curious if that would change the look, and if the shoulders would stay put.

    • June 9, 2014 8:10 am

      That is an interesting idea, but I’m pretty sure I can say without trying to pull the shoulders down that that won’t work. The arm holes are drafted to sit on top of your shoulders so pulling them down would just cause awkward folds at the armpits. Butterick reproduction vintage patterns aren’t made from the original pattern anyways, even if the cover art is copied from the old pattern, they are drafted from scratch.

  2. Melinda permalink
    June 9, 2014 7:19 am

    I think you look stunning. Love the color, fabric and especially the long elegant darts!
    Why does it appear that the neckline fabric crosses in the opposite direction then the illustrations? Can you change the orientation of how the fabric gathers and then the neckline would be lower??

  3. June 9, 2014 10:06 am

    This is such a pretty dress! I’m not sure about the addition of a belt – it may give that chopped-in-half effect. Then again, in self-fabric, maybe not. I can’t believe you’ve not changed sizes in 10 yrs. THAT is unfair. It also deserves kudos. 😉

  4. June 27, 2014 12:09 pm

    It’s gorgeous! IMHO with the long darts it looks good without a belt. Well, you have a good figure for it, too.

    I picked up a handful of those repro patterns, including this one and in the end I wonder what I was thinking, ha! But you make this look really wearable.

So, what do you think?

