Skip to content

In Which Pedro Wears a Fancy Dress

June 4, 2014
tags: , ,
by

Wedding season is upon us and my cousin married his long time girlfriend over the Memorial day weekend. Of course everyone thinks about new dresses for weddings and Pedro had a very specific idea in mind. I’m still not sure why I keep making things for her, I guess she’s pretty easy to please but the whole time I just want to be making something new for me! And no, I didn’t get around to making myself a new wedding-guest dress, but I did wear a dress I made and had never worn before. We’ll get to that dress later, since it’s never been blogged.

PedroFancyPurple (1)

Pattern: Vogue 8241, Semi-fitted, pullover lined dress with waistline casing in seam and blousing in bodice, back neckline opening with button and loop closing.

Fabric: Matching purpley polyester crepe, lace, and lining from the “bridal” section at Joann’s. You can always count on bridal fabric to coordinate perfectly. We picked this color specifically to match Pedro’s shoes. Pedro’s thoughts will be in quotations throughout:

Yes. There’s a lacy part, so that’s very ‘in’ of course. And the not-lacy part is also nice, though not quite as ‘in’… There was a fair amount of fabric on the bottom, like 7 layers of the skirt-y part or something. That was weird. But you know, in a good way? I like the dress, Carl. Make me more things…

PedroFancyPurple (2)

Pedro and Bia

Design Likes/Dislikes: This is a very easy dress to make, I made it significantly harder with all the layers though. I also didn’t follow the directions exactly but I like my way of lining things better. I didn’t think through the elastic at the waist as much as I should have and totally screwed it up once, oh well, it’s fine now.

I think my favorite aspect was the lacy over part, so it was like it was a short-ish fun dress but yet I still didn’t have to shave. And it’s very ‘in’.

Least favorite was all the hullabaloo with the bottom part, sooo many layers. Made it feel kinda heavy.

But actually, there were only 3 layers on the bottom…

Happy Pedro

Happy Pedro

Used the scalloped edge of the lace as the hem

Used the scalloped edge of the lace as the hem

Sizing and Fit: I made Pedro a size 20 and because of the relaxed fit of the pattern I think it fits well. If she ever wants me to make something more form fitting though, I think I’ll have to learn to do a full bust adjustment. I was worried about the skirt length since Pedro and I live several hundred miles away from each other. Personally I think it should have been longer, but she says it’s fine.

Yesyes, fits well. Very nice. Only problem was the button on the back got stuck in my hair literally every 5 minutes no matter what hairstyle. So that’s something to consider. Definitely won’t be picking death buttons again!

Not sure why it turned into a death button, but it's very pretty. There is a flower embedded in the plastic!

Not sure why it turned into a death button, but it’s very pretty. There is a flower embedded in the plastic! In the background you can see Pedro’s “kitten” Zeus.

Pedro getting annoyed with the picture taking

Pedro getting annoyed with the picture taking

Changes: I used both skirt lengths and a lace overlay (sewn as one with the middle layer of fabric, then lined as usual).

I also added this tag in the back, to make sure she know how much I love her...

I also added this tag in the back, to make sure she know how much I love her…

Pedro tires of her shoes

Pedro tires of her shoes

For Next Time: A dress for me! I’ve wanted to make this pattern for myself forever (I bought the full size range so I could… eventually)

3 out of 4 us-made dresses!

3 out of 4 us-made dresses!

~Molly

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2014 10:42 am

    I ‘specially like the tag. 😀

  2. June 6, 2014 5:35 pm

    She looks great! Love the lace. Also, LOVE that tag. I need some of those.

Trackbacks

  1. Ferris Pillow | Toferet's Empty Bobbin
  2. Hipster Lumberjack Party Pirate | Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

