Skip to content

The Week of May 4th to May 10th 2014

May 10, 2014
by

May the fourth (be with you), 2014!  I don’t have any Molly-made star wars clothing so no dressing up here.  This T-shirt is a Kimono Tee, an old free pattern by a Burdastyle member (not sure if it’s still there or not though, things have changed a lot since then).  Pedro has a matching shirt.

May 5, 2014: Layers are where it’s at. I pretty much only wear this shirt as often as I do because it’s black and easy, but I don’t like the sleeves, they stick out and make me look a little Romulan (not that you can see that here because of the cardigan).

May 6, 2014: I should really make this shirt with long sleeves, it’s awesome.

May 7, 2014: I love this dress, but I struggle with how to wear it because it such a big block of gray. A sweater over it works, but then you loose the cool pleats at the neckline. It was really comfortable though.

May 8, 2014: Another bathroom pic because we had soccer right after work (which really should have been cancelled what with all the thunder, lightning, and pouring rain…grr). I like the shape of this top but I think the collar is too high and the insides itch where I surged edges (probably a combination of poly fabric and surging texture). It’s too bad too because a semi interesting, sleeveless, white shirt is really useful for work.

May 9, 2014: Had the day off, just errands and appointment sorts of things. Wearing another Kimono Tee, this one is salvaged from some of Mr. Husband’s old white undershirts then tie dyed.

05-09-2014

 

May 10, 2014: I forget I have this cardigan most of the time, it gets hidden easily for some reason. I should make more of these though, since I’m almost always wearing layers at work.

Cardigan

M5978 (I’m totally wearing the exact same outfit in that post too, but with more holes in my jeans now…)

And I found quite a few interesting things this week:

  • I love seeing how other people dress for the office, I just discovered this Wall Street Journal series because they featured the NPR office (I love NPR btw). Audie Cornish looks especially awesome.
  • Toy designer Stephanie Eskander talks about the gender divide in the toy isles.
  • Go to this link. What do you see? No, you’re wrong – that is a miniature diorama!
  • If you hadn’t noticed I’m kindof into embroidery right now and I love when it becomes more statement art then simple household craft (not that I don’t love that too, craft is definitely where I’d categorize my stitching!). Check out this awesome cross stitched metal by Severija Incirauskaite, I love the car hood!
  • Morgan at Crab & Bee interviewed Leigh Anne Van Dusen about her sustainable fabric business.  I always appreciate sustainable sewing practices, but reading stuff like this often just makes me depressed because I’m not doing enough.  I like fabric shopping, and honestly, I like man-made fibers too – which are definitely not eco friendly.  What I need to do is work through my stash :/
  • How the department store came and went (or is going), there is some seriously interesting and thoughtful design behind the way we shop (or used to shop, I guess).  But have any of you seen pictures of abandoned malls? Creepy
  • I don’t talk about body image much, I think other bloggers have a better voice for that, but this is just awesome and everyone should watch it. Those ladies are so pretty.

~Molly

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2014 5:06 am

    That cross-stitched metal work is absolutely incredible! Great find! Thanks for sharing it. So inspiring.

  2. May 11, 2014 6:23 pm

    What a great snapshot of your me-mades this week. I really appreciate the MMM, because it makes me think about what I wear, more than I usually do. And thanks for all the interesting links. Great reading.

So, what do you think?

