Skip to content

Gathered Raglan

April 7, 2014

This was a really quick make.

gatheredstripes-3

Pattern: BurdaStyle 02/2013 #127

She needs a bra…

Fabric: Poly-cotton striped jersey

Design Likes/Dislikes: Raglan shirts usually fit around the shoulders better than traditional sleeves, and this is an interesting take on that idea with the gathers. Problem is the gathers make the shirt feel loose around the arm pits compared to the rest of the sleeves. The only other issue is the neck binding is too loose, I should have known to reduce the binding length when it fit around the neckline perfectly. Negative ease is better with knits.

gatheredstripes-1

gatheredstripes-4

Sizing and Fit: I made a size 34, and overall the fit is really good. The only way to alleviate the loose shoulder feeling would be to reduce the gathers and bring in the neck binding.

I'm not even pulling very hard...

I’m not even pulling very hard…

Changes: None

For Next Time: There are options for a short sleeved top and a dress in the same magazine, and those would be cute, but it’s unlikely that I’ll get around to making them.

~Molly

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Melinda permalink
    April 7, 2014 6:10 am

    Well, I think that top looks amazing on you and you should get around to trying the other options! From here, the neck drape does not offend (esp. when you’re not pulling on it). BTW, did I ever mention that “Starry Night” has always been my favorite painting? Just sayin’…..xxoo

  2. April 7, 2014 7:36 am

    The tops look nice! I have this pattern selected in the short sleeve version to try soon.

  3. April 7, 2014 7:57 am

    Love it in the stripes, I think it looks great. Then again I often think we are very self critical of our makes, while the rest of the world doesn’t see the flaws.

  4. April 7, 2014 9:22 am

    Cute top, love those stripes! It doesn’t look very loose in the photos but seems more of a comfortable fit.

  5. April 7, 2014 1:09 pm

    That’s very chic. Love the idea of gathered raglan

  6. April 8, 2014 9:11 pm

    I like this a lot. I’ll have to try this pattern. I’ll watch out for the neck issue.

  7. April 10, 2014 1:53 am

    I just traced this pattern – thanks for the tip about the neckline. And you’ve absolutely convinced me that I must make it in a stripe, your fabric is perfect!

  8. Elizabeth permalink
    April 11, 2014 10:26 pm

    Looks awesome on you! Love it!

  9. September 13, 2014 7:53 pm

    Did I see this today? The photos are astounding, but don’t do justice to seeing the actual garment you made. I may have to find that pattern after all!

So, what do you think?

