Skip to content

Birthday Pennant

March 26, 2014
by

One of my good friends, Bridget, likes to celebrate her birthday for most of the month of March.  I didn’t even know when her real birth date was for a really long time, just sometime in March.  Being perpetually late to the party, I decided the day of that I’d like to make her a personalized present.  And now a week later, I still need to get it in the mail.

img_6699

I’ve also been struggling some to find interesting things to embroider that are also useful and don’t take a lot of extra sewing, and now I think I’ve finally hit on it.  I have a pennant for my alma mater decorating my cubical at work and I think it’s pretty neat and semi retro. Not that this is especially useful and it still involves sitting down at the machine… but it’s cute!

School spirit

School spirit

Mid construction

Mid construction

The finished measurements of Bridget’s pennant are about 5.5″ wide and 13.5″ long.  I drew two 6″ x 14″ triangles and after I finished embroidering them, sewed them right sides together using 1/4″ seams.  Next time I’ll probably allow for 1/2″ seams.  I took the opportunity to create a sort of stitch sampler using some of the instructions in Doodle Stitching: Embroidery & Beyond.  I’ve been wanting to expand my embroidery horizons, especially as I’ve been reading Julie of Button Button as she stitches a new sampler every month.  Most of these stitches I think you can classify as crewel, but I didn’t use wool thread just regular craft store stuff.

Whipped stem stitch in green and pink running stitch for the B, back stitch to outline the M and seed stitch in two shades of pink filling the M

Whipped stem stitch in green and pink running stitch for the B, back stitch to outline and seed stitch in two shades of pink filling the M

Long and short stitch to fill the C (not the best choice for a curve), buttonhole stitch outlining the D and some haphazard lattis work inside the D

Long and short stitch to fill the C (not the best choice for a curve), buttonhole stitch outlining the  outside and split stitch inside of the D and some haphazard lattice work filling the inside the D

I think the M and D are my favorites.

IMG_6702

 

~Molly

No comments yet

So, what do you think?

