Skip to content

13 Blue Doves

December 18, 2013
tags:
by

I make ornament’s every year, it’s good fun. This year I just painted some simple pre-made paper mache ornaments from the craft store for my cousins and nephew. But then I was feeling like my ornament game had been slipping in recent years and I wanted to do something a little more traditional. Enter Kelli of True Bia and her second annual Ornament Exchange, this year expanded to include more than just bloggers that she personally selected.

IMG_6449

IMG_6444

I had actually started making these doves before I read about the Ornament Exchange, I was thinking about making a wreath out of them (hence why I made 13 instead of just 6, the number I needed for the exchange), but change is continuous. The pattern is from an old Christmas craft book that was in my Grandma’s collection called Christmas Stitchery by Sandra Lounsbury Foose, published in 1986. The instructions call for felt and hand stitching, which I didn’t like, so I used pinking shears to cut the pieces out and sewed everything wrong sides together with my machine. I think they look better this way too.

IMG_6448

IMG_6446

IMG_6447

IMG_6445

Why blue? Because that is the only color of quilting cotton I had on hand (I’m semi planing to make a quilt with all of it someday), but Bia recently sent me a whole box stuffed with red, green, and white fabric scraps! I am obviously the favorite child.

IMG_6450

I’ll probably save some of these for next year to give to the kids in my family, unless I make something else along the way. It’s pretty fun getting ornaments from other people in the mail, can’t wait to see what everyone else did on Kelli’s blog. Here are links to the ornaments I made in 2012 and 2011.

~Molly

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Melinda stein permalink
    December 19, 2013 3:00 pm

    I LOVE the blue doves! So peaceful.

  2. December 19, 2013 4:31 pm

    How fun! I love the blue too. The doves are so pretty

So, what do you think?

