Skip to content

No Pocket Tank

November 13, 2013

Grainline’s Tiny Pocket Tank is really simple, but oh so  stylish and easy. Winning combination in my book. Pretty sure I was only sewing for an hour (maybe 2 at the max), and poof, new tank top. Minus the tiny pocket (it’s cute and all, and maybe next time I’ll use it, but it just looks fiddly for something that won’t be super useful).

nopocket-5

Pattern: Tiny Pocket Tank (TPT) by Grainline Studio

A great basic top for spring and summer which does double duty as a layering piece in the fall and winter. This top features a tiny pocket as well as bust darts and a slightly relaxed fit. Suitable for many fabrics, dress it down for day in cotton chambray or make it fancy with a printed silk.

Fabric: Mystery cotton blend (not even sure it’s a blend, could be 100% for all I know, but it’s got a different feel then 100% cotton) most likely from Bia’s destash (into my stash) again. This one is probably on the verge of being too stiff for the TPT.

nopocket-2

Design Likes/Dislikes: I like the fit a lot, fitted through the bust, then loose and a little swingy. This will definitely be used for layering this winter since it’s a great basic. The neckline is a little wide, but it still covers my bra straps so I probably won’t change it. I like the hem too, it’s not especially noticable, but there a slight shaping to it so that it dips down just a bit in back.

nopocket-3

Sizing and Fit: This being my first time with Grainline, I accidentally sewed up the seams with 5/8″ allowance instead of 1/2″ so it ended up a little tighter than it was supposed to be, but it still fits so it’s ok. Next time I’ll do it right. I think the sizing was right on too (always a concern with independent patterns).

nopocket-4

Changes: None on purpose! I guess I did the bias binding on the neckline so that it showed, which is different than directed. A little contrast looks nice though.

it's too cold for no sleeves

it’s too cold for no sleeves

For Next Time: Use the correct seam allowance and probably fabric with more drape like rayon.

~Molly

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2013 8:28 am

    Looks great! I love the contrast bias on the neckline. It take is up a notch from simple to amazing ! The fit looks great too

  2. November 13, 2013 3:16 pm

    oh I have this pattern all printed & cut out, good to see it sews up quick, I’m hoping to run up a few before holliers!

  3. November 13, 2013 8:07 pm

    Looks Great on you! I’ll have to get this pattern.

    I think the Grainline patterns are very well designed. I got the Scout Tee after resisting it for so long, because I thought it was very simple. Well, it fits great & has become my TNT – I’ve made at least 4 of them.
    🙂

Trackbacks

  1. The Week of April 27th to May 3rd 2014 | Toferet's Empty Bobbin
  2. Tank with Tiny Pocket | Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

