Skip to content

Sophisticate

October 15, 2013

Continuing right along, I’ve made another top that is suitable to wear to work. In fact I think it looks pretty darn smart. Easy too.

sophisticate-3

Pattern: V8816

Misses’ Top and Tunic: Pullover top or tunic (fitted through bust) has draped neckline variations, bias upper fronts, and narrow hem. A: cap sleeves.

v8816

Fabric: A weirdly shaped rayon challis remnant, possibly a hand-me-down from Bia. Surprisingly, having to cut the front piece on the bias worked out to the benefit of how much fabric I had, I only had to had a seam to the upper back piece.

sophisticate-1

Design Likes/Dislikes: I like the loose flowy-ness of the top and how easy it was to put together. The only fiddly bit was securing the front self-facing but it wasn’t hard. The neckline is a little wider than I thought it would be but that’s ok. Also, the pattern can be squeezed out of small amounts of fabric.

Sizing and Fit: Like usual I cut a size 10 and I think it fits as intended, loose. I probably could go down a size but I’m too lazy to cut out the tissue again so I won’t. I could probably just take some width out of the side seams.

The side profile is my lease favorite because of the looseness, but it won't stop me from wearing it

The side profile is my lease favorite because of the looseness, but it won’t stop me from wearing it

Changes: Only to add a seam to the back because of fabric constraints. I even followed almost all of the instructions! I’m pretty proud that I didn’t get lazy and actually used a real narrow hem on the sleeves and bottom (as opposed to surging and turning over once).

Paired with different pants...

Paired with different pants…

I'm not sure which pair I like best with the top

I’m not sure which pair I like best with the top

For Next Time: I’d like to try the other neckline drape variation (not enough fabric this time), but I think this one is a winner. I needed more solid colored tops.

~Molly

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2013 1:01 pm

    I agree, a perfect work top!

  2. October 15, 2013 1:25 pm

    I am in need of such kind of tops! Looks really nice on you. I especially like the look with white wide leg trousers.

  3. October 15, 2013 4:39 pm

    Lovely! I assumed it was a burda from the fit but it’s not! Also narrow hemming is the bees knees. Are you using a dedicated foot? They are awesome. I use them for everything now, including finishing off inside seams =)

  4. October 20, 2013 10:17 am

    You are on a roll! This is a great top, too. I think it looks best with the wide trousers. Looks stylish and easy.

So, what do you think?

