Skip to content

Neutral Blocking, Like A Boss.

October 7, 2013

Thankfully I’ve come to terms with my current sewing time limits, most day’s I’m just to tired after work to get much more done than cleaning dishes and ironing tomorrows outfit. But the weekends are fair game! So now I’ve finished an awesome top that I’m really excited about. First, a back story.

About a month ago, Tilly did a post on personal style “branding” and it really intrigued me. Now that I dress professionally everyday I feel like I get to dress more ME (hm, maybe I really did deserve all those “Most Professional” awards from my sorority…). I like color, but not too much. My colors tend to be more deep or bright “jewel tones.” Prints are fun, but neutrals definitely call the shots in my closet. And girly, frilly crap is against my religion.

2013 Style Board_2

Since I am a person who needs to know both the details and the big picture, I scanned through my pinterest boards and pulled together a collage of stuff I like. Even though I know my style, as described above, it can still be hard to visualize what I really want/need in my closet and if the fabric-pattern combo I just picked out will be something I actually want to wear when it’s finished. This collage is simple, but I immediately picked out that I NEED to get going on color blocking because I love it but have nothing like it. And green, I feel like I need more green, but we’ll deal with that one later. First, color blocking (or neutral blocking since there isn’t much color here…).

colorblockboss-2

Pattern: NL6808, a pretty simple/basic darted bodice top with variations. I’ve used this patterns so many times now, it’s perfect for small amounts of fabric that need to be showcased.

NL6808

Fabric: Two medium weight remnants, the gray is a twill maybe and the white a pique? Who knows, pretty sure they’re both cotton. And they ravel like there’s no tomorrow.

Design Likes/Dislikes: I pretty much love this top, I don’t feel like I often make things that are super fashionable, but this feels so cool! It was really easy too. I basically just traced off the main two pattern pieces (I ditched using the facing pieces after the first time I made this top, bias tape all the way man) then drew  a curved line on the front that I liked. From there I measured where the line hit at the side seam, drew a line on the back piece at the same spot and added seam allowances. It even matched up at the side seams when I sewed it up perfectly without any easing! I’ve got magic fingers dude, you don’t even know. Oh and this pattern is so simple, it doesn’t even take long to put together.

colorblockboss-3

Sizing and Fit: Even though there are plenty of darts on this top, the fit has never been super tight on me and I like it that way because then I can leave out the zipper! If I do ever want a tight fit, it would be easy enough just to take in the side seams, but then you have to add the zipper…

Changes: Lots of things. Pattern manipulations, no facings used, no zipper, and I didn’t even pull the instructions out so I doubt I did anything in the same order as written.

colorblockboss-4

For Next Time: You know there will be a next time too. I’ve got two more of these tops (without color blocking, just awesome fabric) cut out but I probably won’t make them next. Got to take a break from something so awesome, you don’t want to overload and get tired of it!

All around? Win, win, and win.

~Boss Molly

11 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2013 6:54 am

    This looks great! Love the colour combo. The collage is a great idea. Going through my stash the other day I found I had pretty much only pink, turquoise or grey fabrics… an evaluation like this might help me 🙂

  2. October 7, 2013 7:22 am

    awesome top. I think it looks professional yet right on trend. You did a great job!

  3. October 7, 2013 7:31 am

    Beautiful. I love it. It’s very you and very different. I too prefer colour blocking (if at all) on neutrals because it just goes with so much more. Having said that I also love saturated colours.. XD

  4. October 7, 2013 1:22 pm

    Wow, this is awesome! This has me totally rethinking that pattern. And I need some cool professional clothes like that too 🙂

  5. October 7, 2013 8:01 pm

    Like a boss indeed. I really, really like this top. The neutrals are great and the curved yoke is perfectly placed. Very nice!

  6. October 8, 2013 12:47 am

    Looks amazing! Love the colorblocking.

  7. October 8, 2013 12:02 pm

    I echo your style sentiments; I prefer classic, stylish solids to girly, frilly things too – and neutrals rule!! I like your idea of compiling a Pinterest board to visually connect with what your wardrobe is missing… I use lists but pictures are so much more fun! ^__^

    Great job on the top – no zipper = win!! (why do tops need zippers, anyway? LOL)

  8. October 9, 2013 9:43 pm

    Simple, yet oh-so flattering. I think you’re on a winner if you’re going to be sewing more things like this!

  9. October 11, 2013 1:42 am

    The proportions on the colour blocking are just right. Looks really good on you!

  10. November 9, 2013 1:39 pm

    OMG, I love it! You did a great job with the placement of the lines, and the color combination is really professional and classy. What a cool transformation of that pattern!

Trackbacks

  1. Shell #6 | Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

