Skip to content

Skinny Day Jeans

September 30, 2013
tags: ,
by

Pants. The bane of all sewista’s existence. I really does not seam to matter how well you fit into the standard Big 4 size chart because the pants will never fit you right out of the envelope. I dislike chopping into patterns before I’ve tested them, so I made a quick and dirty “muslin” out of a leftover piece of stretch denim (seriously, what do you do with a 1/2 yard of denim?). The fit seamed decent enough to move on to the next stage and make a test run of the full pattern. The results are analyzed below.

skinnyday-2

Funny, they don’t look as bad in the pictures as they feel…

Pattern: V8774

MISSES’ JEANS: Fitted, tapered or straight-legged jeans (below waist) have shaped waistband with hook/eye closure, carriers, front/back pockets, back yokes, and binding for front fly zipper closing. Topstitching and narrow hem. Purchased belt (approx. 2″).

Fabric: Stretch denim, nothing fancy

Design Likes/Dislikes: I am short so most skirt and pants patterns end up sitting way too high on my body. These pants sit at a pretty good level, maybe a scootch too high. I also like that the waistband isn’t straight, I kindof hate straight waistbands. They just never fit me. Other than that, I just wanted a pattern with traditional jean details, which this has. One dislike I discovered at the end of making these though is the size and positioning of the belt loops, too long and just not placed well.

skinnyday-4

Sizing and Fit: I cut a straight 10. From my first run through I knew I was going to have to take out a bunch of fabric from the back seam, at the top I took out about 2.5 inches, tapering back to nothing around the center of my butt. So the waistband fits pretty well, but I still don’t like the fit in the front and back crotch areas. It just feels like there is way too much fabric. I’m not good with pattern modification so if I go back and try this pattern again, I’ll be doing some research to get rid of the excess.

skinnyday-3

Changes: I started out with the straight leg version of the pattern but it wasn’t very flattering on me so I just took in the seams and made them fitted skinny jeans.

I bound the waistband facing because that's the way all my store bought pants are. Also buffalo nickle button!

I bound the waistband facing because that’s the way all my store bought pants are. Also buffalo nickle button!

For Next Time: Like I mentioned above IF I use this pattern again I’ve made some vague markings on the pattern pieces about the stuff I don’t like. But I’ll have to do some reading on pants fitting to get it figured out. I think at this point I’d like to try pants from some different pattern brands like Burda and Style Arc. A while back I also traced off one of my favorite ready-to-wear jeans so maybe I’ll try replicating those sometime too. I wear pants in my life significantly more often than skirts/dresses so doing some trial and error to find a good pattern is worth it to me.

meh-pants

meh-pants

~Molly

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2013 6:51 am

    They are great! Good job! Now next one 😉

  2. jennifer permalink
    September 30, 2013 7:26 am

    They look good but how they feel is key. I’ve made a lot of jeans and been happy with quite a few, my new favorite is the Jamie jeans from Named Clothing. Absolutely amazing fit without modification and a contour waistband with no gaping or tugging, 4″ zipper, so not too high. My previous favorite was from the Fall ’12 Ottobre Woman magazine. I’m 5’1″ but not as slim as you, my typical mod is just hem length.

  3. September 30, 2013 7:42 am

    They look great, Molly, but how they wear is key. In my experience, Burda’s patterns require less alterations for a great fit, but like you say in your post: reading and testing will produce a great pair that FEEL good to wear. *shudder* hate uncomfortable clothing!

  4. September 30, 2013 2:44 pm

    The pics look fine but I know what you mean about things not feeling right. There’s a bit of creasing under the backside which is something I’ve been getting on trousers lately. Taking in the back crotch is supposed to help that although I can’t say it completely cured my wrinkles.

    I often find jeans get better with wear though. I guess it’s creep at work.

  5. July 3, 2014 5:53 pm

    I’m basing this comment on my own experience sewing pants (I know I’m almost a year late to the party) – your version of these jeans makes them look tempting, so I did a perusal of images online and found that they are basically flat-butt jeans. The reason for creases right under the bum is because fabric is being pulled into the crotch – there’s not enough put into the pattern to begin with. I have a healthy derriere and have never found a pattern with enough designed in to accommodate – most pre-made pants have the same issue, tight across the front thigh with creasing under the rump. Sometimes I suck it up but when it comes to sewing I’m always hoping for the holy grail : )

Trackbacks

  1. The Week of April 27th to May 3rd 2014 | Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

