Skip to content

The Amazing Bia and Her Simplicity 1882

September 19, 2013

Deep in the catacombs beneath the historic fabric piles of Nebraska known as The Stash, a manuscript of great importance was discovered by the blog overlords (Molly and Pedro, duh). This is the story of an epic battle of sewing triumph! From the depths of her stash, Bia found not what she wished and began her quest for the Holy LBD, which she was destined to seek. Against all odds and the threat near of seam ripping, Bia smote the tissue dragon at the last moment, sending it back to the envelope from wence it came trembling in her glorious presence. Read on oh faithful and straight seemed ones, for here is her story:

I wanted a new Little Black Dress (from now on referred to as LBD). I feel that everyone should have at least one LBD, they are so versatile! I liked the idea of getting a good fit, as advertised with the sub-heading to Simplicity 1882 … “Amazing Fit Collection”. I was hooked.

Back porch and S.1882

Back porch and S1882

Molly always answers a bunch of questions about a pattern, let’s see if I can get them all answered.

Pattern Description:  Misses’ Amazing Fit dress with separate pattern pieces for A, B, C, D cup sizes and slim, average and curvy fit. Soft V-Neckline, Princess Seams, Softly Pleated A-Line Skirt.

Fabric Used:  100% Polyester, with no apologies.  You definitely need to use a ‘flow-y’ fabric (note use of high-tech description).

Did it look like the pattern drawing/photo when you were done with it: Yes, I think so.

Were the instructions easy to follow:  The instructions were very detailed, yet clear and easy to understand.  This would be a good first ‘big project’ for a newer sewist.  Or seamstress.  Or clothes-maker.  For me (I have been sewing for more than 40 years), they were too detailed.  I skimmed alot and read how it came out in the end.

What did you particularly like/dislike about the pattern: Pockets! On a dress! Wonderful! And they are great pockets too, not little ‘piece of candy’ pockets.

I do not subscribe to little bows.  On anything I wear.  Way back in days-long-ago, I made my mom take the little bows off my undershirts.

Additionally, I did not like the idea of sewing the dress together with the wrong sides together.  This was done to make it easier to adjust the sizing, but if there ever was a sewing activity to turn people off, it’s ripping seams.  AND ripping seams in a relatively cheap BLACK polyester.  So, I did not sew it together wrong sides together and ended up not having to rip all the seams out. Yeah, me!

showing the nice fit

showing the nice fit

Did you make any pattern or design alterations?  I used an even cheaper 100% black shiny Halloween polyester for the collar and the pocket flaps.  They show this as an option, so maybe its not too daring.  I didn’t want to mess with piping, and as explained above, no little bow.

Would you sew it again?  Yes, I got alot of compliments at work when I wore it.  And it is very comfy (don’t forget the pockets!).  BUT… I still remember the numerous adjustments I had to make, so it might be awhile before I tackle it again.  On the other hand, I made notes about adjustments, so it probably wouldn’t take as long.

Would you recommend it to others?  A qualified yes.  Only if she were committed to lots of messing around the first time through.

There you have it.  I am going to wear it at a conference next week in St. Louis and listen for nice words about it!

– Bia

And so ends the tale of The Amazing Bia in her quest for LBD imortality, a triumphant tale of struggle, love and seams. Until next time!

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 19, 2013 7:57 am

    Oh, this is just so lovely! The fit is perfect, and the collar and pocket details make this LBD fab. After all your notes about adjustments, I do hope you make more because this looks so good!

So, what do you think?

