Skip to content

Pack it away and start from the top

September 10, 2013
by

So after being project confused for a while I just put all those things away and started something new. I already had this cut out (because I batch cut) but it is something I was interested in sewing and wearing, and it was easy. And I recycled! Previously this skirt was two pairs of Mr. Husband’s work khakis that had worn holes in the knees. The holes made it a little difficult to get all the pieces cut out, anything that was meant to be on the fold has a seam down the middle, but I don’t think it looks too weird. I really like the extra seams down the sides, they look like stripes.

I tried to put together a work appropriate outfit, I need more tops... and this skirt just sits alot lower than my other skirts so it feels strange.

I tried to put together a work appropriate outfit, I need more tops… and this skirt just sits a lot lower than my other skirts so it feels strange.

Pattern: S2263

Pattern Description: Misses’ & miss petite jacket, top and skirts. Threads sewing pattern collection. American Sewing Guild.

Thank you Simplicity, that’s very descriptive and helpful of you.

Pattern Sizing: This time I cut a 12 (I’m normally a 10 in Big 4) because  I’ve made a similar skirt by Simplicity before but felt the fit was too tight so I wanted to try again. I assumed that the only difference between these two skirt patterns was the pockets but I’m not entirely sure because now that I’ve made one size bigger it feels too loose. Maybe I just won’t win with this one. 

pickupskirt-4

Apparently my legs need to see the sun a little more often, they’re a totally different shade than my arms…

Fabric Used: Two pairs of men’s khaki pants

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? It’s hard to tell but I think my skirt sits way lower than the model’s.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I was hoping for a comfortable fit but I think the pleats in the front bother me too much because I want them to lay perfectly flat and they won’t. I should just avoid skirts with pleats like this because they always bother me. I steamed the crap out of them so maybe that will help. Also, pockets would have been nice.

pickupskirt-5

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I added center seams to all the pieces that were meant to be cut on the fold only because of my fabric situation.

Would you sew it again? I doubt it since I made such a similar skirt previously, I’ll just stick to regular straight skirts with darts.

Would you recommend it to others? If front pleats are you thing then yes, it’s a nice basic skirt.

pickupskirt-3

Now if you’ll excuse me for another month, I need to slowly sew something more colorful.

~Molly

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2013 8:09 am

    It’s a very nice skirt, but yes, it is too big for you, and yes, it needs pockets.

  2. September 11, 2013 10:32 am

    I like the skirt. It is just one of those ‘quiet’ garments that is a good back drop for a dramatic top or blazer. I think we all need a few ‘quiet’ garments in our wardrobes – I know I always do. They are just really nice basics that we reach for again and again. Leave the skirt in your closet, let it ferment a bit and then pull it out and wear it again. That’s what I always do with a garment I am just feeling sort of ‘meh’ about.

  3. Bia permalink
    September 11, 2013 11:03 am

    I didn’t write yesterday, but I think it looks really sharp, especially with the black top. If it feels a bit big, you might just try it on days when you have 1) a heavier shirt, 2) feel ‘bigger’ (like some days end up feeling). Sew those pleats in front down a bit, maybe that will feel better too. I really love the side detail.

So, what do you think?

