Skip to content

Project Jumping

August 23, 2013
by

I love my new job (I’m a Transmission Line Civil/Structural Engineer for those of you that asked. Basically I design the really big power lines that run across the country – not the little ones that connect to your house), but having my brain be so active in technical stuffs all day long is really taking a toll on my crafting abilities. I still have the skills of course, but I can’t focus on one thing. This is really strange for me and I hate having multiple in-progress projects laying around which makes me even more dissatisfied. For reference, I currently have the following projects partially sewn:

  • a red cordory skirt for my eventual Velma costume. But the fabric is cheap and since it’s a costume I really don’t care how nice it turns out and thus is boring to even finish. I need to attach the lining and hem it, so it is getting done slowly, in small bursts.
  • A walrus stuffed animal. I hope this guy is really cute but the pieces aren’t lining up super well, I’m sewing his face on to the body now but it won’t fit in my machine anymore and hand sewing is tedious.
  • 2 different embroideries, because I was getting bored with my pretty mermaid so I started a nerdy engineering joke…
  • Work pants, I have a couple pairs that need to get taken in but I attempted reshaping the legs on one and I kindof hate them now 😦 The back is all wrinkly and strange. I might just give up on those and throw them in the eventual refashion/scrap bucket. And not even start reworking the other pair sitting on my desk since they’re decent at this point.

IMG_5972

Also now that I’m wearing professional clothing all the time it’s easy to see where I have wardrobe holes but I have such a big queue, it’s going to take forever to get to those ideas. At least I have more money now…?

~Molly

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Bia permalink
    August 23, 2013 7:18 am

    Gaa! What will you do!?? Seriously, after a while of working, you will get more into a routine and your mind will settle on projects and sewing. Give it a chance.

  2. August 23, 2013 7:33 am

    Good luck with your new job. I tell my Granddaughter stories about the Electric ladies that live on the landscape. They get lonely and escape sometimes.
    BTW, I can’t believe you would line a skirt for a costume! You must be a perfectionist–something useful in engineering and sewing.

So, what do you think?

