Skip to content

The Color of Success

August 8, 2013
by

That is how Burda described the color gray in 2011… I’m not so sure, I like gray but I think white and black have more impact. Anyways, silly titles aside, I made a new shirt. This was a pretty easy shirt to make, the collar gave me a little trouble and I’m still not entirely sure I did it right. I mostly sewed this the weekend before I started my new job, all I had left were the buttons (I’m really bad about getting all the necessary notions together before I start projects aparently)  – I’m really going to have to get used to forcing myself to sit down even just for half an hour to sew because other wise I could easily spend my nights sitting in front of the tv or computer! But I got it finished up this weekend and I snapped a couple pictures the night before work* (sorry they’re a little grainy, I thought I did it in time while there was still light but I guess I got too distracted by the internet).

successshirt-4

It’s kindof funny, looking in the mirror I do feel more dressed up than I need to be for work even though this is entirely appropriate. But really, there are literally 3 other women out of 26 people in my division so I’m going to stand out no matter what I wear. Might as well just look the way I want.

Pattern: Burdastyle 128 9/2011, I feel like I’ve made a lot of the patterns from this issue… Also, why does the English Burdastyle site have to make finding it’s patterns so much more difficult than everyone else? Personally, the Russian site is the best. If only Pedro knew more sewing terms in Russian.

Pattern Description: The German site had a pretty good description this time: Clean chic at its best! The sleeveless blouse has a small but crucial details, such as two folds in the front and shoulder seams forward control.

Pattern Sizing: 36-44, I cut a 36. This is a very boxy style and the side seams are pretty much straight so it would be kindof tight around my butt if I hadn’t cut off some length. Next time I think I’ll shape the sides seams a little.

Fabric Used: White mystery cotton blend, at least I assume there’s some cotton in there because it didn’t mind high heat, but it sure was difficult to get a crisp press (steam is my friend). The fabric has some embroidered stripes along the grain too which makes it more interesting than just plane white.

The back is pretty plain

hm, that’s an interesting white area of the wall…

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? It looks exactly like the model photo. While I was making it and trying it on I was only looking at the technical drawing which implies that the shoulder seam comes all the way down about an inch from the top of your shoulder. But in reality it is very angled so the shoulder seam ends up on the shoulder at the neck but down an inch or so at the arms. I also feel like the collar isn’t drawn correctly in the tech drawing, but I can’t explain how exactly, it’s just different-ish.

Side view!

Side note (and view): this is my best fitting skirt ever (because of the stretch in the fabric) but I always feel more self-conscious in it because it’s slimmer than I’m used to. Thankfully the pictures are reassuring me.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Mostly, I had to reread them a couple times to make sure I understood and I’m still not sure I inserted the collar correctly, but I have no idea what I would do differently.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like the looseness (even though I think it will always look best with a belt or tucked in) and the shoulder pleats are pretty cool. The pattern is a little long for my short frame and because the side seams are extremely straight, the fit gets tight around my butt (I just cut a couple inches off and that isn’t too much of an issue anymore). That could be fixed by leaving the seams open at the bottom and just finishing the edges.

And then I started getting bored with my pictures. If Vogue can do it, so can I damnit!

And then I started getting bored with my pictures. If Vogue can do it, so can I damnit!

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Only to cut off some length.

Would you sew it again? Yes, there aren’t many pattern pieces and it doesn’t take a lot of fabric so I think it would be a good “wardrobe builder,” and since it’s sleeveless it will fit under jackets and cardigans well (seasonal multitasking!)

yup, that's enough of that.

yup, that’s enough of that.

~Molly

*I like testing my outfit theories the night before so I don’t waste too much time in the morning throwing clothes around

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2013 7:00 am

    I love gray – it has to be a special shade of gray however. And it is easy to match with so many colours which in combinations with black doesn’t look so good.
    BTW. Your skirt is great 🙂

  2. August 8, 2013 7:19 am

    Oh, this is really a nice look. I think I’m going to have to copy you. Soon.

  3. August 8, 2013 8:28 am

    Very professional, you may be one of three at your office, but you will stand out.

  4. August 8, 2013 9:56 am

    Great outfit! That shirt is fantastic – every version I’ve seen on other blogs looks good. And I agree with you: if you’re going to stand out regardless of your attire, dress to suit yourself!

  5. August 8, 2013 5:22 pm

    Nice. You look very professional and *work appropriate* XD The skirt is cool too-though have you tried that on a black/navy skirt? Methinks it would make the simplicity *pop* more.

  6. August 8, 2013 9:12 pm

    That is one pretty awesome blouse, and it suits you excellently. Entirely appropriate for work… or with short shorts on a hot summers afternoon!

  7. August 11, 2013 8:31 pm

    I’ve always been intrigued by this design. Your rendition is lovely.

  8. August 13, 2013 10:27 am

    I’ve always liked this pattern. Love the little bit of texture in the fabric, too.

Trackbacks

  1. The Week of May 4th to May 10th 2014 | Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

