Skip to content

New things, Old things

June 21, 2013
by

So, my sewing bubble burst a little, but for good reason. First just because I was traveling a lot: home, job interview, birthday/anniversary celebration trip. Then, just as things were settling back down, I got a job! Now my sewing room has a mount of boxes in the middle of it because we’re moving to the Minneapolis area!!!! I’m super excited (mostly just because of the job, Minneapolis is nice but it wasn’t our top location choice, I’m happy though)!

IMG_5795

So there probably won’t be too many new posts for a while (I might squeeze in one more project before I pack all the sewing stuff up because we’re not leaving for a couple weeks still), but while I was packing some none essential notions I came across some of my Grandma’s old things that I thought you guys might like to see.

IMG_5796

I’ve had Grandma’s sewing machines and desk full of notions and tools for quite a while now, but there is so much awesome stuff in there that sometimes I’m still finding new things! Or at least finally learning what I’m supposed to be using those things for (I’m looking at you clapper). First up we have a Dritz Slot Pocket Maker, I believe that is another way of saying welt or double welt pocket. I have not tried to use this yet because I’ve never tried making a welt pocket and have yet to feel the inclination.

buttonhole

Next a Scotch Instant Needle Conditioner. I guess so you don’t have to change needles as often? It looks like it’s been used but not a ton so maybe it didn’t work for Grandma.

needleconditioner

Here is something weird: the Third Hand. Sounds like a neat idea, maybe I’ll give it a try, but it doesn’t look like it’s ever been taken out of it’s package before.

thirdhand

This is an easy one, a bias binding maker. I have several more, that are obviously newer, from Grandma in various sizes.

IMG_5801

These I believe are for cutting open button holes, but I never use them because Grandma also left me the next tool, which so happens to be one of my favorites…

IMG_5802

Special scissors to cut open button holes to exact measurements! These are soo cool because the blade has a gap in it that allows you to cut only the button hole and even has button sizes on it. You turn the screw by the handle and the blades lock at a specified length so you don’t cut past your button hole either. Does that make sense? Maybe I should try to demonstrate them some time. They’re really ingenious, and it always surprises me that they aren’t more widely used.

buttonscissors

There you have it, some neat tools from Grandma, not sure what more you could ask for. And happy longest day of the year (or shortest if you’re in the southern hemisphere)!

~Molly

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Bia permalink
    June 21, 2013 6:39 am

    I have the same scissors for button holes and agree that it is the BEST THING EVER Invented for buttonholes. In general, a shirt I make may languish for a few extra days on the sewing table until I get up the ‘gumption’ to make buttonholes. Even with lovely tools like this scissors and “automatic” buttonhole settings on my fancy Bernina, I still dislike making buttonholes.

  2. June 21, 2013 7:19 am

    Y’know, when my DD’s were smaller, we read through (and attempted some) of the projects in the Mary Frances Sewing Book, and there is a little bird which gets attached to the table to hold long seams for you as you stitch them. This is your “third hand”. I think everything was hand stitched, it was a very common sewing tool. Believe it or not, Hermes scarves are hemmed using a similar idea. You can watch it here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bcVQFmBCCA0

  3. June 21, 2013 8:46 am

    Ooh, I’d be glad to take that 3 rd hand. Off your hands. And one of the button hole chisels. Let me know! Tln4122@hotmail.com

  4. June 21, 2013 12:06 pm

    Oooh, that third hand would be super handy! Hahaha I am not sorry at all. But seriously, look up those old Victorian sewing birds, it’s the same thing. I use my presser foot as a third hand all the time for hand-sewing, but I guess it’s not as useful if you’re always machine sewing.

    I need to get me some of those buttonhole scissors! Mine always look so raggedy when I cut them open with the seam ripper.

  5. June 21, 2013 5:39 pm

    Congratulations on your new job! Mpls was our top choice -wouldn’t want to live anywhere else, except maybe the Alps, or the Scotland coast….

So, what do you think?

