Skip to content

Pedro and the Pastel Flowers

June 14, 2013
by

Hm, Pedro asks for a new dress, Molly makes it in just a few weeks. Am I sick? This is uncharacteristic. But I guess she is off in Russia now, then Norway later, and then Russia again (oh I hope she blogs while she’s gone!) so I won’t see her in a while… And the dress was crazy easy to make.

Pedro smiling, I think she's sick.

Pedro smiling, I think she’s sick too.

Pattern: M6744

Pattern Description: Pullover dresses have bodice variations, elasticized (seamed) waist, and narrow hem. A and B: fitted bodice. I made view A.

Pattern Sizing: XS-XXL, I make a large for Pedro

Fabric Used: Printed cotton jersey, this fabric is super soft and not too heavy (to stretch itself out) so you would think it would be a breeze to sew. Wrong. There must be some sort of sateen finish or maybe an extra fiber content that is weird because I was getting skipped stitches at least every inch using a zigzag stitch. Strangely I had no problem using a straight stitch, but maybe I just couldn’t see the skipped stitches so it didn’t’ bug the crap out of me. I sewed the waist seam twice to try and get everything zigged over, thankfully it’s still really stretchy there. I probably could have messed with tensions and feeds, but on such a simple dress it doesn’t seem worth it.

I picked this fabric using my exceptional taste and “sewing” knowledge. It’s actually a terrifying story. You see, Bia and Molly came to “visit” me in deepest darkest Denver. But whenever they get together all that’s on their minds is when they’ll get their next fabric fix. Denver, being quite larger than either of their home bases, has a greater selection of fabric stores. I divide fabric stores into two categories: those with comfy chairs and those without.

We went on a fabric shopping spree at Denver Fabrics (not associated with DenverFabrics.com) in Littleton, CO. Awesome store if you’re ever in the area.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, I think so.

Were the instructions easy to follow? I looked them over and didn’t follow them. Mostly because I like sewing the side seams last whenever possible and I decided to bind the neck and arms instead of hemming. But they’re really short and there’s nothing difficult in them.

We didn't get many pictures of this one because it started raining

We didn’t get many pictures of this one because it started raining

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like the simplicity of this pattern, it’s probably one of the most current things that McCall’s has put out recently because this is a dress you can and will find in many stores. It’s easy to make and looks really comfortable. Now, what does Pedro think?

Well it doesn’t have pockets. So where am I even going to put my octopus?! But it’s like my t-shirts that Molly has made for me: comfortable and nice.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: The only major change I made was to bind the neck and arm edges instead of hemming them. Binding is so much easier and give a better result. However I guess I didn’t cut my binding with the stretch so it gapes out a little, but once the dress in on a person it’s not so bad, and top stitching and trimming the seam allowances helped.

Would you sew it again? Yes, I bought the pattern in my size too. And this pattern is so simple and easy I wouldn’t be opposed to making more for Pedro (or The Oldest Sister, if she desired) at some point.

Would you recommend it to others? Yes, like I said easy.

~Molly

2 Comments leave one →
  1. The Oldest Sister permalink
    June 14, 2013 6:24 am

    Happy Birthday MolMol!!!

  2. June 14, 2013 9:44 am

    cute dress! It looks so comfortable, yet stylish. I hope pedro has fun on her escapades! I’d love to visit Norway someday.

So, what do you think?

