Skip to content

Pedro and the Flannel

June 12, 2013

It seems to be a recurring event that all the presents I give Pedro are now clothing I’ve sewn for her. It helps that all of us sisters’ birthdays are in the summer, so there is a good gap of many months before it’s time for winter holiday presents. Well, now that Pedro is a hipster living in glamorous metropolitan Denver she wears plaid flannel shirts constantly (the location and the garment might not actually have any relevance to each other, scientific experimentation on hipster lifestyle has thus far failed). I have made her a more stylish version.

PedroPlaid (6)

Brought to you semi-live from Bia’s backyard!

Pattern: BurdaStyle (magazine) 102 04/2010, I have made this shirt for myself previously (I believe I was wearing it while we were fabric shopping and that is how this came about, if you get my drift)

Pattern Description: For your entertainment, google translated from German: You have three wishes: Airy it should be to sew a bit different and fast. The fulfillment comes in the form of our wide double-breasted blouse that is closed with little buttons. The half-length kimono sleeves are rolled up and held by a clip.

And now from Russian: It is pleasing to the body, air and easily sewn – in this double-breasted blouse, despite her modesty, a lot of advantages! In warm weather, you can wrap kimono sleeves and fasten patami.

Pattern Sizing: 36-44, I cut a 44 for Pedro.

Fabric Used: Plaid cotton flannel

I’m a fan of flannel, it makes me feel happiness and like I’m frolicking through the meadows. That tumultuous void is filled with just the right amount of warmth and intersecting lines at right angles. Flannel, man.

PedroPlaid (7)

PedroPlaid (5)

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

The drawing was as accurate as a flying squirrel leaping into a tree.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, I did actually use them some but did things in my own order.

PedroPlaid (4)

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like the style and the double row of buttons is unique. But Pedro is the real judge in this case:

Well it was a tad disturbing that there isn’t a real collar on it. There’s like a tuxedo front deal but no neck collar, that’s not particularly delightful but it’ll do just dandily. I like it.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I messed up tracing a little so the sleeves ended up being shorter than intended but since they get rolled up anyways you can’t really tell.

Mugshot by the mural I painted on our garage/shed in highschool

Would you sew it again? Probably not

Would you recommend it to others? I like it but I understand most people don’t care for boxy tops like this – it’s very comfortable though.

It’s just a delight and a half to wear. I feel like a fashionable lumberjack since Molly usually describes my “style” as hipster lumberjack.

The mysterious stairs to nowhere

~Molly and Pedro.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2013 7:22 am

    Love the colours in that plaid! And the stairs to nowhere are wonderful. 🙂

  2. June 12, 2013 6:32 pm

    Really cute top! I’m a bid fan of flannel, too. Need to make more flannel clothes!

  3. June 13, 2013 7:09 am

    This is an awesome top – I love the colors too!

So, what do you think?

