Skip to content

Basic Attire

June 10, 2013
by

Every winter I discover that I don’t have as many plain old long sleeve t-shirts as I would like, so here is a plain old long sleeve t-shirt! Of course it’s not winter here (though it’s uncharacteristically cool right now), but I tend to sew out of season. I really like this fabric, so soft and very springy (and not from lycra, pretty sure it’s all mechanical stretch). I got it at a small store in Seattle, probably a couple years ago by now.

Pattern: B4198, out of print from 2004

Pattern Description: T-shirt: neckband, short sleeves, braid trim.

Pattern Sizing: XS-XL, I cut a small

4198

Fabric Used: Black and off white striped cotton interlock

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, except for the long sleeves

Were the instructions easy to follow? I didn’t even get them out of the envelope because it’s just a basic t-shirt and I’ve made it several times already, no surprises.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? This is my favorite t-shirt pattern, it just fits really well.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I lengthened the sleeves to full length, with cuffs. Interestingly, this is the first time I’ve used the original neckline from the pattern.

Would you sew it again? Yes, this is at least the third time I’ve made it and I’m definitely not stopping here.

Would you recommend it to others? Yes

~Molly

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2013 9:32 am

    Great Tee! Looks very comfortable

  2. Hannah permalink
    July 18, 2013 1:33 pm

    You do such pretty things with knits! I’m rethinking my aversion to horizontal stripes. Are you on Kollabora? We all go crazy for good T-shirts over there.

So, what do you think?

